My Morning

in #blog6 years ago

IMG_20180511_072530.jpg

Volunteer Ash is growing by leaps and bounds! They might need a bigger pot this year. I've decided the balcony garden this year will hopefully be a balcony forest. I am tired and discouraged from so many years of A LOT of effort going into food production, and getting three tiny tomatoes and a teaspoon full of (supposedly Anaheim, but now I think they were serranos) chiles (last year). A bowlful of lettuce leaves and one cucumber (other years) or a handful of herbs and two tiny tomatoes (other years). I am not a farmer. I am a tree-hugging Druid. So this year I'm growing a forest.

IMG_20180511_072541.jpg

Five apple seeds and the red maples.

IMG_20180511_072601.jpg

The green maple is in the sculpture garden. I was afraid the "pot" might tip over the ledge of the balcony. It's the shade from a lamp that broke years ago that I repurposed as a plant pot.

IMG_20180511_072922.jpg

The flower babies are doing well and about ready to be transplanted into bigger pots outside, I think. Mother's Day is this weekend, which is the traditional Colorado planting benchmark.

IMG_20180511_072508.jpg

Steemit needs smellavision, because my compost smells WONDERFUL!

IMG_20180511_072842.jpg

Finally washed my gardening gloves, the one pair have been dirty since the last litter walk. Now I'm ready for another.

IMG_20180511_062855.jpg

And I started painting another rock. 💚

Now I need to shower and see if I have any energy for a trip to Target to see how much groceries I can get. I don't have food stamps anymore; not because I don't need them but because it was made plain they wanted to boot me off the rolls as it got harder and harder to re-apply. Last time it took three months of resubmitting the same form three times, a doctor's visit to confirm that yes, I haven't been magically healed, multiple phone calls, panic attacks, stamps and fax and Xerox fees, and I don't even remember what else. By the time I finally got an approval letter that wasn't immediately followed by a "nope, we lied, now we want... " (which also happened like four times), it was time to do it AGAIN about a month later, with weird new demands from the get go ("we need more information about your bank." What information? Am I to print out statements for you now, or just give you my password so you can log in to my account??). Anyway, tl;dr my mental health was more harmed than helped. I couldn't handle it anymore.

So now I'm just not really buying groceries and living off what I had in the cupboard and fridge already, except for a few staple items I've bought. Yay poverty. Oh well. This is why I was focusing on things to try and lessen my expenditure even a little (handkerchiefs and the solar panel), but I'm tapped out now.

So that's been my morning. Sorry for ending on a sour note. It's just frustrating.

That Red Fish your momma always warned you about

Referral links:

Get free Manna, crypto UBI: https://www.mannabase.com/?ref=6e4b50d35e

Join Simbi, the barter economy website: https://simbi.com/wren-paasch/welcome

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.08
ETH 2986.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73