A short, second summer

in #blog6 years ago

The weather is lovely today, it's like summer has returned!

Except that it cools off much more during the nights now.

IMG_20180820_132335.jpg

I'm writing to you from the past again, because Steemit was down yesterday!

We had a wonderful summer already. When we moved into our new home, we had about a whole month of sun and warmth. There was no rain whatsoever. Rules were even put into place to prevent the country from being too low on water. That's the first time I'd heard of that here in the Netherlands.

Sure, with an eye on global warming, that's not necessarily a good thing, however it was a pretty nice change from the usual Dutch weather with more rain than you would prefer during summer.

It wasn't nice for the garden though, I'll have to admit. Grass turned brown after a few weeks and it is still recovering now, after plenty of rain has yet again visited us these last couple of weeks. But hey, I didn't have to mow it for weeks, which was great!

Weather turned colder these last few weeks though, so I spent less time outside. More rain came and the sun went into hiding from time to time, slowly switching to autumn.

Until a couple of days ago! The weather decided to give us a couple of days of sunny, dry after summer. So again, I get to air out the house all day and warm up our home without using central heating.

By the way, I am very happy with central heating. We lived for a year without it in a wooden cabin with a woodstove to heat up the place. That meant temperatures close to freezing point inside in the morning. Bah! So happy that's behind us now.

Anyway, what was the point of this post again? Oh, right, I'm happy for the good weather! As a bonus, hubby took two days off work, so he has a long weekend now. We enjoyed the weather at the amusement park yesterday.

We went into one ride and played Pokemon Go the rest of the time...

/nerd

We'll take it easy today and tomorrow and I'm sure with the free time, combined with the lovely weather, hubby will be fully recharged when he starts work again on wednesday!

Hope you're all enjoying lovely weather too!




Thanks for stopping by! If you've enjoy this article, try my other sites:
| Photo shop | Foodblog | Photo gallery | Twitter | Patreon |

| Check out Mannabase to receive free basic income (ref link) |
Sort:  

We had an amazing day weather-wise yesterday too @playfulfoodie so it was not bother for me that Steemit was down.

I only noticed in the evening when I wanted to put up a post.

I'm glad to hear you had a nice long weekend with your husband and you're making the most of the gorgeous weather.

Although, it's a bit of a contrast today - grey and overcast here.

Have fun today! 😊

Aww no! We have another beautiful day here, so I enjoyed some outside time :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98