Foodie is the luckiest girl alive

in #blog6 years ago

For multiple reasons, I feel like the luckiest girl alive! I've shared a few and I will share another one soon, but today, I have a story to tell about a flood.

A couple of years ago, my now empty and soon to be sold house got flooded. The entire downstairs area needed to get its floor ripped out. It then had to dry for a couple of weeks, after which I got a new floor.

This happened due to heavy rains and a crappy sewage system. It was only our neighbourhood having these problems. Streets half turned into rivers, houses flooded. The water basically came back up out of the toilet and shower drain.

Needless to say, I was not amused.

Ever since then, whenever heavy rains got predicted, I have been completely stressed out. The toilet made concerning noises a couple of times after that day and there was some water coming up out of the shower drain again on another occassion. However, it never got that bad again.

Since the house is now empty with us living over an hour away, whenever heavy rains are predicited, I keep an eye on the Facebook group of the neighbourhood. If anything goes wrong, people will start to complain there and I'll know something's probably up at my own home aswell.

It's not the house's fault, it's the extreme weather combined with a bad sewage system from the city. Insurance will cover damages, but it's still not something I want to happen again. In 1,5 weeks, the house will be officially sold and I can live without the stress from that moment on.

Yesterday, heavy rains were predicted...

Now my luck comes in waves. Sometimes, everything's against me, sometimes, everything's great for me. When we visited the area of our new house a few days ago, I told my boyfriend: "I feel so happy and lucky now, I wonder what kind of trouble will come to mess it up soon.".

I thought for sure this would be it. My house would get flooded again, 1,5 weeks before it was supposed to be sold.

I kept an eye on the weather forcast. Later, I checked out Facebook and Twitter. This is what I saw:

That's my city! That last picture is in my neighbourhood! The Facebook group was flooded with people complaining about the bad sewage system. Water coming up in their toilets, their sheds, their showers.

I was completely stressed out!

I called my dad to tell him about this and he told me he'd head over there to check on my house. I asked him to take pictures of my flooded house, so I could contact my insurance asap.

Then, we waited. It's half an hour drive to my home from my dad's house. In the meanwhile, more pictures came rolling in on Twitter.

I knew for sure my house was flooded. My boyfriend told me that once we got the news from my father, he'd call his boss to tell him he wouldn't be able to go to work tomorrow. We had a house to clean and insurance things to take care of. He told me we'd head over there right away and start cleaning in the evening. We'd have to sleep over at my mum's place and take care of everything in the morning.

We started getting our things together. An overnight bag, buckets and mops. Cola to keep my boyfriend awake during the drive.

I send my dad a message that we'd head over there right away if things were flooded. He messaged me back: "Everything's completely dry."

...Wait, what?

"Nothing to worry about. Even the toilet's completely clean!"

...But how?

Turns out, for some reason, my house survived the flood! The entire city had to endure heavy rains this time. Again, streets turned into rivers, houses got flooded. Heck, even a couple of roofs gave out! But by some miracle, my house was fine.

I couldn't believe it. I couldn't believe my luck hadn't left me yet. No flooding! No stress!

Honestly, I still can't believe it today. How could my house be spared while the entire city was struggling with this mess? While the last time, only our neighbourhood had these problems?

I was so relieved yesterday. I still am! I'm just wondering what horrors await me when my luck turns sour and starts making up for this miracle, combined with the miracle that is our future house.

Oh well. We'll see to that later.

So, this is why yesterday evening, I felt like the luckiest girl alive!




Thanks for stopping by! If you've enjoy this article, try my other sites:
| Photo shop | Foodblog | Photo gallery | Twitter | Patreon |

| Check out Mannabase to receive free basic income (ref link) |

All pictures were taken from Twitter posts.


Fair warning: Beggars, copy/paste comments and obvious bot comments will get flagged.

Sort:  

I sat down here wondering the stress you could have gone through assuming your house was flooded, all thanks To God, you are indeed a lucky woman, am happy for you @playfulfoodie

Owww that was so lucky, I'm glad you had this break, sounds like you really deserve it! So happy for you, Foodie ;)

Glad it turned out well for you @playfulfoodie. It goes to show there is absolutely no point in worrying about something before you know what the situation actually is! 😁

It goes to show there is absolutely no point in worrying about something before you know what the situation actually is!

That sounds so sensible... yet I can't seem to help myself! ;-)

All part of being human I suppose @playfulfoodie. We all do it. Makes no sense. Doesn't serve us. But still we do it. I'm better than I used to be though. Hoorah! 😍

When nature does not cooperate.. I know the feeling when that happens, in my case it was the trouble with solar panels. You try to install them with heavy rain falling for days.

Ouch, that sounds pretty annoying!

oh my god, so much flood, too much flood , it's scary !

Those are some pretty scary pictures, it seems quite horrible and stressful indeed for homes to get flooded like that! Looks like the city needs a team of water-fighters instead of fire-fighters... haha sorry

But still, congrats on your good luck so far on the home not getting flooded; but you're moving out of there anyway, right?

I already moved out of there, now the house just has to be officially sold. Already have a buyer, but the official selling happens in 1,5 weeks :-)

The weather is getting more and more extreme. Cities should really take that into consideration with sewage systems.

That's great news in the end! Seems like everything is working out. As I read on I was getting anxiety thinking your house for sure was going to have water after looking at all those pictures, that's crazy.

I'm happy you got very lucky and nothing happened, good luck this last week and a half with the house.

Thanks @scruffy23! I couldn't believe my luck... seems the next two weeks should be calmer.

I am happy for you. Stay dry. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63036.79
ETH 3067.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82