Gave my site a big overhaul

in #blog5 years ago

Yesterday, while lying in bed, my head would not stay quiet.

I blame myself, we were gaming right up until the point we headed off to bed. No time to wind down.

Anyhoo... my mind was all over the place, thinking about how I do/don't want this job thing to work out and how it would affect my personal projects like blogging. I thought about the domain name hubby got me a little while ago and how the site it linked to wasn't getting any love from me. I thought about how I might update that site, but how it was still so low on content and it wasn't getting many visitors anyway, so maybe I should go a different way...

Then I thought about my wordpress site and how I've been neglecting that one too. It already has a lot of content, but the problem there is that I'm focussing on two very different things: food and gaming. I'm sure it could be annoying for foodies to scroll through gaming content, just as much as it would be annoying for gamers to scroll through food content.

The thing is though, I don't want to choose. I've claimed this name on many sites and I love my name and want to continue using it for basically everything I do online. I don't want to limit myself, even though I know that could sometimes be a good thing. I just can't. If I limit myself to one thing and try to force myself to stay active in that one particular field, it'll start to feel like work and I'll start resenting it.

So, multiple subjects. How to make that work without annoying my audience too much?

My wordpress blog was basically like my blog here: filled with the things I felt like sharing at the time. I limited myself to food and gaming there, but it was all put together into one feed.

No more!

I came up with some changed, noted them down in my phone for the next day, and went to sleep.

Playfulfoodie

This morning, the first thing I did on the pc was create buttons. Buttons for five different topics.

See, even though my wordpress site currently only holds food and gaming, I might want to change that soon and start sharing all of my activities. This includes sharing my best pictures and latest designs.

I don't want to put too much pressure on myself though, so that's a long-term thing. The short term sollution to pulling all of my content together is the seperation of local content and off-site content.

The local content now points to certain categories on my wordpress site, so foodies don't have to be bothered by gaming content and gamers don't have to get hungry while searching through my gaming adventures. I also added a blog button there, even though I haven't written many 'random blogs' there yet. I figured I should soon write one about the site overhaul.

The off-site content now points to two seperate sections of my Redbubble shop and to my Steemit blog.

I also removed many widgets I was using. Many weren't really adding much to the site besides clutter. And I adjusted my menu, so now it points towards content already sorted by category.

Playfulfoodie

Oh, and the other big thing: I picked a new theme! I used one of my designs as a header, though I'm not sure yet if this is the one I'll stick with. It's not my biggest priority, so it'll do for now.

I'll have to ask hubby to change the site my domain name is pointing to, so for now, I'll show you my site through its wordpress link: https://playfulfoodie.wordpress.com/

I'd love to hear what you think of this idea of pulling more of my content together into one site!


Thanks for stopping by! If you've enjoy this article, try my other sites:
| Photo shop | Designs shop | Foodblog | Photo gallery | Twitter | Patreon | Weku |

| Check out Mannabase to receive free basic income (ref link) |
Sort:  

i think it looks pretty good. The way it is now i don't think will cause any trouble to the gamers or the foodies. If someone wants to check posts related to food he/she will simply click on it.

Also the gamers like food so it's a win win :P

Thanks for the feedback @filotasriza!

Also the gamers like food so it's a win win :P

Haha, this is true!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70733.96
ETH 3563.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76