My Latest Brainwave & Project

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

So..... I got a VAN! My next little project (althought, NOT so little). Why? Well, i'm going to use it as a Stealth-Campervan and a Bug Out Vehicle (BOV).

Vets new van.jpg

Once complete, i'm going to circumnavigate the United Kingdom (anti-clockwise) over the period of a year. Then, the European continent. My main aim would be to see the sights, go to places i've never been before and generally, just EXPLORE and have Good Time! That's what life is all about, isn't it?
Before the trip begins however, there is a whole load of conversion to carry out.

Strip Out | Clean-Up | Fault Fixing | Road Worthiness & Servicing | Preparation & Paint

Planning | Insulation | Flooring | Lining | Utilities | Furnishings | Finalising | ROAD-TRIP

So . . . . . Watch this space as i add another aspect to my posts!

Let the games begin!

Sort:  

Oh Awesome. I am so happy for you...and a little jealous. Looks nice and roomy but not too big. I think designing the interior is going to be as much fun as living in it. There are many people here living in their camper vans full time. Dad loves traveling and living in his camper truck full time. He goes to northern states in the summer and south western states in the winter. FREEDOM!!!! I am just thrilled for ya!

Thanks.... well, I plan to have it cosy but not too elaborate.... (Costs can spiral and time can press-on). As long as it is reliable and comfortable, the rest will fall into place...
It's been a little ambition of mine to do this road trip, so yeah, pretty cool.

I agree. It will always be a work in progress as you go anyway. My Dad makes modifications now and then. That's the beauty of doing it yourself.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Prepper Veteran from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This sounds like an amazing plan! We just met a couple that had been travelling around the world with a van much like yours. They really had a nifty outfit right down to the solar panels on the roof! They had been on the road for over two years and when confronted with barriers such an ocean, just put your van on a container ship.

Nice idea! Yeah it will expand our options too...

haha! cecicastor is there any subject you don't know about? it's amazing. yes the solar panels sound like a brilliant addition!

I am sure that there are one or two that I don't. I like to learn and I meet lots of different folks in my travels and we share our knowledge.

oh my gosh cecicastor I just remembered that I never read your latest post about your supply run! I'm going to get there today because I'm so concerned and interested in your situation there. God bless you.

Awesome! It looks to have straight walls and a high ceiling. Nice choice, many options! Don’t forget you will need a heat source, also look for free items on sale listings/Craig’s list to keep the cost down.

Yeah, definately keep the cost down... I estimate the lifespan of the vehicle to be another 10 years. So long as it achieves the aim, i'll be happy...

Once you're up n running, if you're passing Leeds then you'd be more than welcome to pop in for a brew at Egg HQ :)

LOL that'll be a blast.

I'll go into full on 'Wayne's World' mode in your presence... "We're not worthy! We're not worthy!" ;)

I've got the essentials on standby; kettle & teabags :)

howdy sir preppervetuk! this sounds like a magnificent plan..and think of all the great posts you can do while exploring! I love this idea. the van appears to be in very good condition on the outside, what brand is it?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.08
ETH 2986.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73