Telling the Truth

in #blog5 years ago

I just finished watching the GQ interview of Jordan Peterson, which is a very good long form interview from an antagonistic interviewer:

This is a great interview for many reasons; it's over 100 minutes long, Helen Lewis is forceful in confronting his ideas, and we witness Peterson's ability to argue well.

One thing that strikes me about Dr Peterson's approach is his emphasis on telling the truth. This isn't just something to do for others, but to ourselves.

Telling the truth to ourselves about who we are is difficult, because it forces us to stop and look objectively at the decisions we make in life and realize that there is real darkness in each and every one of us, and if we don't fight it, it can take over.

Religious Practices

The Judeo-Christian tradition of truth telling is 3000 years old. Before Christ, the Jews of the Old Testament offered sacrifices in the Temple in atonement for their sins. Since the New Testament, this has taken the sacramental form of Confession, which is practiced both in the Eastern Orthodox and the Roman Catholic Church.

As a Roman Catholic, I can attest that Confession is a powerful tool. On a purely natural level, by telling my sins to another man (in this case, a priest), I'm speaking out loud my shortcomings, which has a powerful effect in avoiding them in the future, and reminds me I'm not as great as I think I am at times.

Other Religions

What sort of truth telling do other religions practice? I'd love to hear your thoughts on truth telling in the comments below.

-Jeff

Sort:  

I haven't seen this one yet, but long-form is the only way to listen to him. It takes time to see his arguments. I don't agree with everything he says, but I agree with quite a bit of it. I appreciate the thoughtfulness he brings to the discussion as opposed to parroting the conventional wisdom.

I remember a short interview that he did with a guy from Vice(?). The edited version made him look like a jerk. Later the unedited version came out and the interviewer looked like an idiot ... while Jordan Petersen emerged as the Socratic teacher.

Long form is one of the few antidotes to the epidemic of sound-byte memes that are politically edited.

I appreciate a good, honest debate.

I would say buddhism has the ultimate "truth telling " and highest subjective scientific research.

Why not?

They actually have methods to explore the "inner self".

"Why" may have sounded more contentious than I meant it.

Are you talking about meditation or something different?

Posted using Partiko Android

Anything that asks, "whats your inner world look like?".

I think I see.

So, if you're looking inward, you're going to see the good and the evil both, and now you've got to decide what to do with that?

Posted using Partiko Android

What does this mean to you?

I'm having a hard time finding continuity between your first statement and these.

I do appreciate the discussion. :-)

Dr Peterson is a great speaker, and he's got a big following on Youtube.

He is fascinating. I disagree with him on some of his ideas, but really appreciate how he confronts ideologues.

Posted using Partiko Android

You got a 0.94% upvote from @minnowvotes courtesy of @myfinanceteacher!

I love listening to Peterson talk... being able to articulate my thoughts that well is something I aspire to! I don't know how he can structure his thoughts that well and that far ahead.

He reads a LOT. He's also spent a lifetime as a clinician and professor open to learning.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, Jordan is adamant on facing the shadow.

Hi @protegeaa!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.428 which ranks you at #2146 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 430 contributions, your post is ranked at #216.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I'm going to watch this when I have time, this weekend. Thanks Jeff for the heads up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13