I went on a healing spree!

in #blog5 years ago (edited)

meditation.gif
Source

When I'm sick, I will normally go to the doctor first. Then, when the doctor gives me the same test for the 3rd time and says there is nothing else they can do, I get annoyed (Don't worry, I'm not dying 😉). That test will show the same result: nothing wrong... "Maybe just lose some weight".

When I get told to "learn to live with it", my believes kick in that life doesn't have to be that way. Yeah sure, after discovering that there may only be a 0.0001% chance that I will ever (far futuristic future) get the opportunity to smell only when they manage to regrow part of my faulty brain, I can deal with it. But that was only after I discovered the true cause of that symptom.

I hardly ever want to learn to live with something or immediately go for something drastic like surgery. Alternative medicine is my goto place to try other solutions. As a rational beta, I approach this as an experiment when I have my intake. But as soon as I like and trust the "doctor", I don't mind waiting for some measurable results. I keep returning until I get bored, lose trust or go broke...

Through alternative medicine, I managed to postpone my gallbladder surgery roughly 10 years. Some impressive homeopathy brought my 1 gallstone attack per week down to a maximum of 1 attack per year. In this case, this "fake medicine" was all worth it. Unfortunately, it didn't last but no damage was done. Eventually, I got the surgery anyway when a very stubborn gallstone just decided to get stuck...

To give a bit of an overview. In the past, I experimented with:

  • acupuncture: nope.... not gonna walk around with needles stuck in my ear!
  • reiki: a loving touch is always nice, but let me just get a massage instead...
  • foot reflexology: basically, just a foot massage.
  • homeopathy: seemed to work, but takes a long trial and error run to find the right "formula" and it's expensive.
  • aromatherapy: just wanted to make sure this wouldn't work if you have no sense of smell.
  • hypnosis: "I'm not under, I'm not under, am I under, this isn't working".
  • bioresonance: a lot of techy stuff to make it look good, but did it really work? Dunno...
  • shiatsu / qigong: a keeper, basically because it is super relaxing while I get to keep my clothes on.
  • haptotherapy: I just didn't understand what was going on... and I'd like to understand it...
  • magnetising: Great placebo effect with intense dreams after. But never really a lasting effect.
  • herbs: Let me show you my cupboard filled with almost full bottles with pills and herbs.

It is fun to experience and try these things. It is intriguing to me how the body and mind are connected and the power the body has to heal itself. The (super)natural is like a giant puzzle to me that I'd love to crack the code to, but I can't.

And so, this month, still not feeling super duper and running in circles a bit, someone recommended a woman that helped her a lot. And I thought "Oh, interesting! Why not?". Before I knew it, I was visiting a "healer". Because I had no clue what to expect from "energy work" I let her do her thing and honestly, it was impressive how much she told me that was completely on point. I like the woman a lot and it was a fun experience, so I plan on going a few more times to see where that goes.

I do realise, I may be the worst person for alternative medicine "doctors". I don't feel anything they do and I always will keep some scepticism, no matter what. But I'll keep trying stuff because "who knows" and it's just so bloody interesting. There is so much between heaven and earth that we still don't understand and I'd prefer an all-natural-healing over medication or surgery anytime. I believe alternative medicine tries to get to the core of a problem and fix that instead of treating symptoms in regular medicine. However, the proof that should be in the pudding was regularly not present.

So to close this weird braindump... Do you have experience with alternative medicine/therapy and what works for you?

Sort:  

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Looking for some fun games to play on Steemit? Try your luck with Magicdice

Wow! You really have tried alot!
I'm of the same mindset:

prefer an all-natural-healing over medication or surgery anytime

Have you heard of the @naturalmedicine community? Lot's of great stuff going on there!
You might like to read their introductory post here. Also love to welcome you on the Natural Medicine Discord channel here

Here's to health and happiness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99