Update, Month 13: Slow start to Year 2 ...

in #blog5 years ago (edited)

Continuing to blog on all the fascinating aspects of my experience on our Steem blockchain, here is my thirteenth monthly update.

Since posting my introduction on 14 May 2019, these updates represent my "log" of sorts, giving my readers a monthly window into my "journey" through the Steemisphere - a new "virtual world" based on the creation of our Steem blockchain.

So ... "What are you doing 'in there' @roleerob and how is it going?"

Status or "Executive Summary"

To begin, here is a brief overview to answer the "how is it going" question we should probably be "checking in" with ourselves and answering, from time to time.

________________________

Statistics

There is an old saying, "numbers don't lie." Yes, well, there is also an old joke about the executive asking the accountant, "what do the numbers say about how we're doing?" to which the accountant replied, "what do you want them to say?" ... 😉

Required to issue a monthly report for most of my career, with numbers to quantify progress, here are a few:

To date on my Steem "journey," these numbers are the most important. The first three quantify our influence on adding value to the Steem blockchain. And the second two, the actual work we are putting in to add value ourselves. Given all of our rich diversity, I trust we all have one focused objective in common - adding value to the Steem blockchain.

We want the value to go up!

How is that working for us? Well, you see here the market numbers, i.e. the "bottom line" of how our investment is doing. Down over last month. Not good, but the market overall was also down, right?

Wrong!

I covered this finding in more detail in my "Annual Highlights" post. I won't bore you dear reader with "replaying" it again here.

For this post, we simply see last month's result was not an aberration. STEEM lags the market. Full stop. Period. I will be adding this "market check" to my future monthly updates, to see if this ever improves ...

Source: Tim Cliff Post - SBD Explained

________________________

Slow start to Year 2

Yes, a slow start, but ... I am not planning to go anywhere! I just have other, more pressing priorities in my life at the moment. Like two weeks away from home, visiting our "eastern" (those in the eastern U.S.) children. My focus during that time was on my family.

________________________

Engagement "Formula"

A steady work-in-progress, is attempting to maintain the following "rhythm" in the investment of my time:

  1. Engaging "down" with all of the many great Steemians steadily adding value and working hard, who have a smaller stake and doing what I can to encourage them.

  2. Engaging "up" and adding value, as much as I can manage, to the posts of those who may chose to ... uhhh ... increase my "influence" ... 😉 ... to help those in #1 ...

  3. Adding value by writing my own posts, so #1 and #2 have some idea of why they would want to hopefully "engage" with me ...

I don't have my stopwatch out or anything. I just try to be mindful of switching from one to the other. Part of the "flow," as I have written about elsewhere, is naturally regulated by your decline in voting power.

Awards and Accomplishments

In this section of my monthly update, I highlight anything which stood out to me in the way of an award or accomplishment. As much as anything, it's for my reference, when I look back over time and ask myself,

"Are you really accomplishing anything meaningful 'in there' @roleerob?" So ... Let's see about this past month ...

________________________

Supporting other Steemians - 10,000 Upvotes!

From my very early days on my "journey" on the Steem blockchain, I have taken upvoting very seriously. And more than just upvoting quality content posts.

I also make a concerted effort to upvote those who comment well. I think it is unfortunate how little this second aspect of upvoting gets on our Steem blockchain. I could write a lot more about this, but I'll leave it for now and hope the proposed changes in HF21 have a significant impact on improving this part of my fellow Steemians experience "in here" ...

This award may mean little to nothing to others, but I was very pleased to get this award and the milestone it represents.

________________________

Publishing "Road to Recovery" Travelogue Series

Beginning with my Reflections: My "Road to Recovery" Trip post through to my Recap of "@roleerob's excellent adventure!" In winter ... post, I wrote 28 posts in a little over 5 weeks, including my new record of posting 15 days in a row!

Blessed with this wonderful opportunity to both relive and create lifetime memories, I made the most of it. These posts are an important part of both capturing and preserving these memories. Others seemed to enjoy them as well, as the awards I collected represent the most recognition and support for anything I have written for the Steem blockchain to date.

________________________

Publishing my Steemisphere Posts

Until further notice, these posts are what I consider to be my greatest accomplishment in contributing to the Steem blockchain. Why?

Here is what I said in my introductory comments:

”You are reading what I would like to have been quickly introduced to, when I was where you are right now.”

I wanted to help others avoid what I had been through, as much as possible.

Designed to be complimentary to each other, here are the two posts created:

  1. Welcome to the Steemisphere! Getting Off to a "Flying Start," Version 1.0 – Covers the full spectrum of what a new Steemian needs to know to get off to a “flying start.”
  2. User's Guide to the Steemisphere, Version 1.0 – Covers the recommended apps and tools a new Steemian needs as they begin to engage with our Steem blockchain.

dandesign86 Artwork

Source: Steem Artwork contributed by talented Steemian @dandesign86!

________________________

Those are the highlights of my main contributions to adding value to the Steem blockchain over this last month.

What about the contributions of others? I cover that next ...

Monthly Highlights

Beginning with my first monthly update post, in this section I was inspired to try to capture "the good, the bad, and the ugly" every month. Specifically focused on my interactions with others on this "social network."

So ... What do we have this month:

________________________

👍 👍 Two Thumbs Up 👍 👍

Working with ”systems,” as well as managing the work of others, for much of my career, I have always emphasized ”people” over ”process” believing that is the right priority. From a lot of experience, I know the best systems are greatly diminished, if not ”manned” by competent, engaged people. A great team will always solve the problem of less-than-ideal systems. I have never experienced the reverse to be true ...

This section, then, will always be about the people I “meet” in our Community. Specifically, those who have had the greatest impact on my "journey."

In my "Onward and Upward" with PALNet! post, I gave some kudos to three moderators on PALNet's Discord server - @crimsonclad, @r0nd0n, and @juliakponsford.

To learn more about PALNet's recent initiatives, like the launch of PALCoin, I had stopped in to ask questions on what I needed to know and was helped literally within seconds. It doesn't get any better than that!

Image Source: @elgeko's PALNet contribution post!

Here is what I wrote about this great "customer service:"

"And I know they didn't just suddenly 'show up' after finding out 'this is where the action is' on the Steem blockchain. No! They have been faithfully and consistently helping people since I started out 'in here' in May 2018."

"Due to this investment of their time and effort, it is my understanding these key people (I do not know their account names ...) are getting a large share of the initial PALCoin distribution. Not a problem for me whatsoever, they are well deserving of it!"

In some cases, we may have a legitimate case to make about the old "rich get richer" narrative familiar to most of us. But in this case, I want to give a small token of appreciation these Steemians for their tireless efforts on behalf of us all. They are a great credit to our Steem blockchain!

________________________

In this slow month for me on the Steem blockchain, I decided not to record anything in the other sections normally found in my Monthly Update. Check back next month. They will likely be back!

Closing

So, overall a very quiet month for @roleerob. As I head into Year 2 ... And a tad late, as I was still on vacation on the 1st, when I normally get this out ...

Not to worry, as there is an "ebb and flow" that I have become comfortable with on my journey. I am hopeful those of my readers who find my efforts of some value "hang in there" with me. So, thank you for reading my monthly update. I trust you have found something of value in it and hopefully even some encouragement.

Until "next time," all the best to you for a better tomorrow, as we all work together to build up our Steem Communities and increase the value of the Steem blockchain! 👍 😊

Respectfully,
Steemian @roleerob

Posted using SteemPeak and “immutably enshrined in the blockchain” on Friday, 5 July 2019!

divider 123.png


Interested to read more of my monthly updates on my Steem "journey"? Great!

SteemPeak: An awesome interface for our Steem blockchain.

Check it out!


graphic designed by @katysavage


This account is protected by @dustsweeper

Sort:  

Spending time with the family, especially visiting your children is a wonderful thing, I assure you that your children will be very happy.
Palnet is a great project that I like a lot !.
Thanks for your work, you are a great commentator, I can also certify that you like to support other steemians, I include myself there because you have supported me a lot. Thank you dear friend!

Blessings for you and your family!

Thank you for stopping by @blessed-girl and your words of encouragement! 😊

Slow and steady wins the race! I am learning to adjust as well as being with the family is priceless! However, I do enjoy engaging here often as well but now I am doing it on downtime mostly so long periods without a word from me. So far it is working but next week will be a challenge given my business trip.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes @newageinv ...

"Slow and steady wins the race!"

... that sounds good! 😉 Even if I "lose" though, I am content ...

Like you, I also enjoy the engagement and really is the main thing which keeps me "in here" ...

Hope you have a productive and profitable business trip! 👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Nice to see you still around. I must admit I have been remiss in keeping up with your posts. You are one of the few people that gave me an early boost and encouragement on here, and I really appreciate it!

Good to see you continuing to put out quality and engaging with others, even if at a reduced pace. No worries on that. Hope you continue to engage with your real life world at an increased level. I know you know, but that is way more important!

I will try to stay more tuned in to your future missives and keep an eye on how things are going.

Hey, good to "see" you as well @steemstreems. Not to worry ...

"I must admit I have been remiss in keeping up with your posts."

"I will try to stay more tuned in to your future missives ... "

... as I am sure you are doing what you deem best. I think we all sort of "find our way" to the best balance of investing our time "in here" and hopefully are at peace with it, from there.

Hi @roleerob

How's your experience with PALnet so far?

With my usual time limitations @crypto.piotr, I have not had the opportunity to explore PALNet to the extent I would like, but in answer to your question, "so far, so good." I even wrote a post about PALNet, commending them for their "customer service" ...

How about your experience?

So far my experience isn't very good with PALnet @roleerob

Zero communication possible with their team (almost as hard as trying to reach out to anyone from Steemit Inc) is a killer. Not to mention problems with some comments not being displayed on palnet.io. Plus upvoting system sucks.

Somehow I'm not very positive about this platform any more :(

Yours
Piotr

Sorry to hear of your discouragement @crypto.piotr. I have written to you a number of times in the past, but you are not as responsive as was once the case. I can understand, though, as we all have to find peace with our own "journey" here on the Steem blockchain. No one can do it for us.

For myself, I am not posting as I once did, although that may change in the future. For the time being, I have higher priority items going on in my "real life" which don't allow that much time in my "virtual life" ... I do try to keep up with a limited amount of posting and commenting / replying, so still here!

I noticed this morning you appeared to have done a "housecleaning" on those you follow. Glad to see I still "made the cut" ... 😉 👍 But ... You are also powering down a significant portion of your stake ...

Loading...

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi @roleerob!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.637 which ranks you at #519 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 2 places in the last three days (old rank 521).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 175 contributions, your post is ranked at #7.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @sbi-booster.

Congratulations @roleerob! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 3250 replies. Your next target is to reach 3500 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70884.24
ETH 3570.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76