The BEST Ideas in Jordan Peterson's Book "12 Rules for Life: An Antidote for Chaos"

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Do you know what isn't an antidote to Chaos?

ALCOHOL!

B8_E9_A807-_BA26-49_F2-_A597-411698_AC4235.jpg

To those who know, I'm trying to raise my testosterone 'naturally;' ie nothing I'm doing would get me arrested in the United States.

One of the supplements I'm taking, DHEA, will disqualify you from even MINOR league baseball ⚾️ if you're caught using it - apparently there's a loophole that let it sneak past the FDA for non-professional athlete consumer use.

FUN FACT FOR MY SAVAGES:

(I'm referring to you, you beautiful beast)

DHEA is classified as a controlled substance in Canada 🇨🇦!

So don't roll up over the border if you plan to showcase those beautiful biceps while fly fishing in the Great White North - you'll be guilty of transporting what Health Canada regards as an Anabolic Steroid...

Here in the US, you can buy it anywhere.

Regarding alcohol, as a part of this study I'm also eliminating substances that serve to inhibit your testosterone - one of them being booze.

Since I neither live my life in a lab or suffer from OCD, in the last 3 months I drank alcohol on 4 weekends.

While in New York in April,
68461_A64-66_CB-4_DF2-9_BA9-_BEFDC877869_A.jpg

While in Portland,
3_C4272_BF-670_B-4507-_AB8_E-3_C7_CC6083_D33.jpg
Here's a closeup:
16_B8_C39_E-_BD22-4_D2_F-_AA33-62_C5_D287_C272.jpg

While out celebrating a friend's birthday three weeks ago, and another weekend night 2 weeks ago when out of town on business and I bought a one liter bottle of Caramel Schnapps for my hotel room...

Because every time a grown man drinks a bottle of Caramel Schnapps a puppy in Heaven gets its Angel Wings (and his own laser pointer).

The last time I've been definitely drunk was New York in April; the last three occasions were strictly casual social drinking and trying out Caramel Schnapps out of curiosity: Only 15% alcohol, so that 1 liter bottle was equal to 7.5 shots of 'regular' 40% alcohol. It lasted 3 nights and was delicious.

SO,

If this testosterone experiment works, and if you want to give it a go (with your doctor's oversight, of course) if you drink on 3-4 occasions (don't get hammered) that's the protocol I followed.

More key quotes from Jordan Peterson's book:

PAGE 320

""If they loved me, they would know what to do." That's the voice of resentment.
Assume ignorance before malevolence."

PAGE 326

"A few years later, when I was having teenage trouble with my dad, my mom said, "If it was too good at home, you'd never leave."

That quote makes me wonder about our current situation in North America, with younger people living far longer at home than they, or their parents, originally anticipated.

Even outside of the economic reality millennials and generation Z are facing (which is SO different from 20 years ago), I would love to know the differences that sociologists recognize with regard to the differences in family dynamics that has led from kids itching to move out once they've turned 18, into many unmarried people in their 30's living at home.

10_CBA979-72_C7-46_DE-9_CF2-_B9_AE9_E37425_D.jpg

Here's a link to the web page of that screen shot if you'd like to read more:

https://www.thecut.com/2017/04/so-many-millennials-are-living-at-home-but-arent-burnouts.html

This book comes with my highest recommendation.

A1_FEEB22-_E902-4193-8_BEA-9032_CD501314.jpg

PAGE 343

28_E51_B93-6450-46_B4-9_B01-_A967330_D5539.jpg

That message, that the story we write of our lives is one of succeeding despite our near infinite limitations, is what makes the story of each of our lives worth telling.

What are you going to do today that makes your story more inspirational for the people who look up to you?

Make a difference today.

In your life, in someone else's life, in the world.

Steer the compass of your reality towards something significant and worthy of reflection...

You already possess the power and ability.

Today, make it so.

@scan0017 😘

Sort:  

Your post changed my mind @scan0017.
Thanks for Motivation. 👍👍Upvoted and Resteemed 😃😃.

Hey @scan0017, glad to be back to follow on this experiment. Well DHEA isn't a substance I'll want to try especially at my age. For now, I do not have any issues but I'm just picking up on this series in case my older self will need some help. How have you been holding up?

Solid James!
I've worked out more in the last three months than the last three years combined, my diet is 95% consistent and same with taking the supplements; ditto with getting 7-8 hours of sleep per night.
I'm taking the blood test NEXT week and I'm very eager for the results of this experiment!

Fingers crossed. I'm super excited to see what comes up.

So funny.
Keep Raising your testosterone.
Lolz

Hey dear friend @scan0017 . I just Resteemed your post. And I'm new to your blog.
Very good idea. Thank you for sharing with us.

Nice

This post received 8.75 SBD upvote from @tipU funded by @scan0017 | @scan0017 now has a chance to win free @steembasicincome share :) | @tipU voting service quick guide.

WTF you came off the wagon to drink a whole bottle of Caramel Schnapps? Good grief what on earth possessed you? That's like a bucket of sugar right there.

LOL, I know!
I did it for the puppy in the sky...
Normally I enjoy scotch, so dropping ten bucks on some tasty looking flavor for my afternoon coffee seemed a safe bet.
You're 100% right about the sugar!
Forget the alcohol; I think the idea of drinking something sweet is what closed the deal 😋

Do real men smoke cigars while drinking 200 proof liquor? ;)
🔥

.

LOL!
The testosterone blood test is in 3 days, hope to definitively join the club when the results come back!
😀

I'm putting DHEA on my grocery list.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63997.36
ETH 3133.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15