Well it seems like I have to take some time off. Pc ain't gonna work for a month.

in #blog6 years ago

If you follow me you know I was building a pc for digital editing and mostly to buy me some time with some faster processing power and larger ram's. After spending what is for me a quite large amount of money I was expecting to have a working workstation by now. But no, every time I was trying to start a recording, a stream except the first couple of days I was getting stack with a Blue Screen Of Death, or BSOD in sort.

I tryed everything to resolve the situation and it took me over 2 weeks to locate the real issue, one of the 2 8gb G.skill module was roasted, dead on the water. I havent ever in my life had a defective ram module so I was inexperienced of those errors, It took me way to long to understand what the problem was and I din't had the chance to use it for any real productive work, Just a couple of streams and that was it. Long story sort I went and return the ram to the shop I bought them from for a replacement and the worst imaginable situation is it going to take a whole month to rma them.

You have to be kidding me then, there is no reason for me to stay home waiting for my workstation to be build to work with, I will either gonna have to buy new ram and double it when the old ones are replaced, or just get over with it and get some vacations to be done with.

I lean towards vacations. Honestly I want to have nothing to do with a computer for at least a month. My head was at boiling point last night when the red errors poped up from the memtest,and it is now almost exploded after the retailer told me it will take a whole month for the replacement.

Anyway I am loged in from my phone and it is really easy to blog from it. But by any means it is not a photo editing tool, so I will just something about sea and summer for the next month I guess. Or who knows I might even start gym and getting back in shape.

Who knows.

Cheers to all, I'll come back with some speed paints and digital artworks but until next month I will figure something out to post.

No hard feelings to G.skill for the faulty ram, I know this shit happens, I just was unlucky at the silicon lottery and that is all.

peace and out.
@skapaneas

Sort:  

just run it on a single channel

I dont have a ddr4 to use on it I had to send both modules back to rma them, it sucks. I knoow 8gb would be enough to do the work I need to but I cant return a single module they wanted both of them to claim the warranty.

sry to hear that. I had ram issues too once. Ran with one stick for a little time. After a little investigation I found that my "broken" stick would start working again once I pushed on the memory chips real strong. The solder might be cracked a little, but it has held on for over 5 years now :D

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

BSOD oh no!!! At least you are learning a lot.
Is your motorcycle fixed yet?

It looks better than before now :D

I feel your pain... Almost done with my upgrades but still not streaming like I want and my steem power is low... I was in your shoes a few months ago. Hopefully, we'll both rebound as planned.

Thanks man everything rebounds :D

Διακοπες κ ξανα διακοπές, χαλαρωση, υπνος, μπανια, διασκεδαση! Οταν ερθει η ωρα να ασχοληθεις ξανα θα εχεις τρελη ενεργεια! Μεχρι τοτε αμα δν θες να χασεις τν επαφη ανεβαζε καμια φωτο απο κινητο απο τις παραλιες :P

Getting a break away from computer every now and then is a must do!

It sure is a must do. I already feel fresher 1 day off of it.

Ατυχία αλλά τουλάχιστον οι μνήμες έχουν σχεδόν πάντα εγγύηση εφ όρου ζωής. Έχω αλλάξει DDR1 8 χρόνια μετά την αγορά τους 😋

Nai den me anysixei an tha tis allaxoune, me xenerwnei pou gyrisa pisw sto palio pc kai i diafwra einai i mera me tin nyxta. Oute i 1070 den to swzei to palio, tin kanei trelo bottleneck i cpu. Kai to motherboard einai bottleneck stis ssd :(

Maybe you need a break friend,
peace and hope you enjoy summer time!

I will try my best to do so. :) Thanks Katerina :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94