24-Hours to Spend 1M? Eazy-Peazy!

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Sometimes I make myself lol…literally. Recently, such occurred as I pondered a response to @byn’s post on what she’d do if she had $1M to spend in 24 hours.

Of course, this isn’t a common thought, the 24-hour part, that is. But, for the hoo of it, I thought I’d allow myself the brief fantasy.

Here's an excerpt of my reply to her post:

24 hours to spend 1Mil? That's 100K ten times. Hmmm...I'd give 100K to charitable causes.
Then, prolly buy five $100K fixer-uppers, buy upgrades (appliances, wood/stone flooring, tiles) and hire a handy-man contractor (all for 200K) to fix them up for resale; and a $100K personal shopping spree...don't ask I could do it...lol...and lastly take several dream vacations (plenty of time to sleep during flights) and lavishly tip those along the way as a reminder that with GOD, all things are possible.

However, while enjoying morning coffee the next day, the response came to mind; and, an even Smarter thought topped it, making me realize how small my thinking really is. Old habits aren’t easy to break; and, a wise prof once said that the best leaders work smart, not hard. They delegate.

Well, in the spirit of keeping things simple, the Holy Spirit enlightened me on what I’d really do with the $1M/24-hour challenge:

Yes, I’d still delegate $100K to charitable causes which have a high reputation for helping in time of need. The Salvation Army comes to mind.

Yes, I’d spend the $100K on a personal shopping spree, including a lengthy vacation...more on that later.

And thirdly, I’d take the remaining 600K and go all in on BTC; and, become an instant whale with 100K in STEEM.

This BTC investment would make me an instant multi-billionaire, explaining the lengthy vacation, while making my initial response totally laughable, a reminder of my mindset, pre-crypto. Bwahahahahaha!!! Why buy anything when I could invest and forego all the headaches that come with the 5-houses idea?!!! Furthermore, why bother with a meaningless shopping spree, when it'd be easier to order my favorite kid-books for schools that have poorly-stocked libraries.

Of course, after the dust settled from the 24-hour whirlwind, I would enjoy my serious silent-retreat locale for the next 30 days to ponder spirit to Holy Spirit for the next thing.

Btw, such a windfall is a life-changer. Many would instantly see you as the go-to; thus a god of the most unworthy of kinds. To prevent this, it’d be best to tell no one, as Jesus often told those He had healed (Matthew 8:4).

I know. Many would think this was a time of rejoicing, family reunions, solve the problems of everyone in your circle.

Ha! This windfall would make you their problem-solver. Only God can be that vessel. Until the Will was written for heirs and future heirs, just as with Jesus, anonymity would prolly be the ‘easiest’ path.

Okay, now on the count of 3…

One…

Two…

Three…

Back to reality!

Btw, here’s the link to @byn’s post which sparked this whimsical conversation:

https://steemit.com/milliondollarchallenge/@byn/one-million-dollars-in-24-hours-i-d-invest-in-my-family-and-in-home

Peace.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66269.58
ETH 3204.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.24