Adopted a kitten, infected with ringworm

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

A few days after adopting Cleo, I had noticed that Cleo was losing fur. At first I thought it was normal, perhaps she's shedding her fur? But then I started to wonder, do cats actually shed fur at such a young age?

I have never raised a cat before. I've only ever had dogs and other household pets such as hamsters and fishes. I have even less experience raising animals as my mother disapproves of animals (but I am still taking care of Cleo despite her disapproval).

I'm really worried about her losing her fur. Everytime I stroke her, there's like a tiny amount of fur being removed. I carefully checked her body and noticed that yes, she was losing her fur and she had a small patch of hair missing. I brought her to the vet the very next day and found out she was having ringworm.

I was thankful it wasn't anything too major seeing as it was easy to treat. All I had to do was apply medication to the affected areas and to shower her with the medicated shampoo. Sounds simple right? But I was so… very…. Wrong.

Applying medication on her was very difficult, she wouldn't stay still. I obviously don't blame her for moving around as she's just a kitten. But it just made it ever so slightly frustrating. It also didn't help when I tried to hold her down and apply the medicine, because she would let out such a sad little meow and I would just give in and let her go. I just couldn't handle the amount of adorable cute sadness she gave when I restrict her. And because of her cuteness, I got infected with the ringworm as well. Because previously before we found out about her infection, I had allowed her to sleep on the bed with me.

cat1.png
cat2.png

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29