Daily Dose of Sultnpapper 07/11/18> Have I mentioned I have a disease…. I am left handed.

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

On Tuesday I had some time while driving after attending an old friend’s funeral to think about life and odds. My buddy Jake and I shared the same disease and we have fought it our entire lives, left handedness. I never really stopped to think about what the odds are of being a left hander, but I did just go Google it so I would know, 1 out of 10 people are left handed.

Most people don’t realize just how bad this disease can be since most people are right handed. You might even think I am off my rocker when I say that being left handed is a disease but when you actually look at the definition of disease you would see that being left handed surely fits the description.

According to Merriam Webster dictionary the definition of disease is; “ a condition of a living animal or plant body or of one of its parts that impairs normal functioning and is typically manifested by distinguishing signs and symptoms.” So there you have it, right from a trusted source, being left handed is a disease.

Now before you go to typing and trying to tell me that the definition didn’t mention a thing about left handedness being a disease, let me stop you right there. It didn’t mention cancer did it? It didn’t mention diabetes did it? How about aids or any of the sexually transmitted diseases, did it mention those? All of those are diseases, and not a one was mentioned so slow your roll and hear me out.

We live in a right handed world, or at least the country I live in, is designed for the right handed person. Most right handed people wouldn’t even begin to notice since everything is designed with them in mind. Take scissors for instance, damn near a torture device for a left hander to use. Those spiral bound notebooks with the curly wire that holds all the pages together is another problem for lefties, since we end up having the wire embedded in the side of our hand when we try to write. I also remember back when I was in school, all the desks were set up for right handed students. All the microscopes were for right handed folks as well since the focus adjustment was on the right side of the unit.

Ice cream scoops are another item that doesn’t work for lefties, even the ladles for getting gravy are designed to be used with the right hand. When it comes to writing with a pencil a lefty has to spend half their time erasing the side of their hand. Eating is an adventure also; as a lefty has to get the seat at the end of the table so they don’t bump arms with the right handed person next to them when they eat.

Cars are another problem for lefties, especially cars or trucks with standard shift transmissions since the shifter is set up for being shifted with the right hand. Also the radio is always in the middle of the vehicle only accessible to be controlled with the right hand.

Tools are a whole another issue, I remember reading a while back that over 2,000 or 2,500 left handed people die every year from using power tools that are designed for right handed use. Try finding a left hand circular power saw, I’ve looked and could never find one.

The only advantage a left hander had in life was throwing coins in the toll booth on the toll roads, and when the government figured that out they came up with the electronic “easy tag” that would eliminate the need to stop and throw coins in the basket and wait for the gate arm to rise up.

There are plenty of other examples of just how the world is set up for right handed folks but in the interest of time I will just cut it off right here, you get the picture and most likely never even noticed these things unless you also happen to be left handed.

I am thinking I might just have to go see a doctor and get an official diagnosis of my left handedness disease and then go down to the social security office and see if I can get on disability before I seriously injure myself or possibly fatally injure myself.

Did you know that a lefty on average dies three years younger than right handed folks, with all else being equal? That is what research has shown from what I remember reading in that article that talked about the lefty’s dying from using right handed tools.

I am pretty sure that one of you folks is a mathematician or good in statistics or probabilities, what are the odds of being both left handed and being a ‘29er? A ‘29er is a person born on Leap Year day, February 29th. Since I fall under both those categories I would be curious to know just how special I am.

I can’t say that the left handedness disease was responsible for Jake’s passing away over the weekend since he died of a heart attack, but I do wonder if his heart attack might have come three years earlier than if he was right handed.

Until next time,
@sultnpapper

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 194 (7/13/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

I'll put a fresh pot of coffee on and wait for your passengers to unload here, thanks for the heads up.
Very much appreciate you including this as a stop in today's edition.

Hi sultnpapper,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you very much, I truly appreciate all you folks do in the community here at steemit.com.

A ‘29er is a person born on Leap Year day, February 29th. Since I fall under both those categories I would be curious to know just how special I am.

Quite obviously, you are VERY special!

Congrats on the Curie!
~T

Thank you @tamala and thanks to the folks over at @buddyup for including me in the Hook 'em Up post that was recently released, very much appreciated.

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

It's something I rarely think about as a "righty" because you're right, the world is designed for right-handers. I think we take it for granted.
But I was cat-sitting for a friend recently, and I did notice that one of her cats is left-handed. I noticed this because she has a very cute way of helping herself to cat treats from a tin, using her paw - her left paw.

I never have paid attention to animals and what their dominance in the use of their paws are, I wonder if it is right sided as well.

Being a lefty I was nodding along to all of these things. scissors are just ridiculous!!
tin openers, knives would you believe it can also be right handed, serated on one side. i used to think i just couldnt cut bread straight but apparently its the right handed knives!
luckily a lot of my jewellery tools are made for just a hand...either one! the power tools is another one i have to deal with daily.

always a decent read and welcome rant triggered from your posts thanks @sultnpapper :D

I use to shoe horses when I was younger and I had to have a left handed hoof knife, other than that all the tools were the same for that profession.
I guess the majority of product designers must be right handed or the review committees for new products must just see it from a numbers perspective when it comes to product sales, just not enough lefties to warrant the time and expense in a lot of cases.
Thanks for dropping by and hope to see you around again soon.

Oh dear, I have the same disease but not a 29'er!
So I have all the same complaints about this right handed world, only plus is with driving, we sit on the right hand side but drive on the left hand side. My biggest moan is those big registers one has to sign! Taps also are designed for righties with cold water on the right hand side, my hand still automatically reaches for the hot water tap! Before computers when drafting was done by hand, I could not use the more advanced stencils think it was called a scriber so had to use the antiquated stencils. Weird though, I use my right hand for the pc mouse and eat right handed with a knife and fork, but left handed for dessert so I also have to sit on the far side of the table! Maybe all this does shorten our life if the stats are right but I also believe it makes us a little stronger and more adaptable?

I have a slight advantage as well since my older brothers are right handed. They taught me how to play sports right handed and when they weren't around I would also play left handed.
So I can do a lot of stuff right handed almost as well as left handed. Even though I am naturally left hand I have never swung a golf club left handed , since the golf clubs are specific for left or right and we never had any left handed clubs.
Even a lot of cooking utensils are designed for right handed folks so I'm sure you get frustrated as well in the kitchen when having to use those.

A left hander uses more of the right brain. Based on research, our right brain provides the creative part and many are talented in arts as well as music.

I guess my brain didn't get loaded with those programs before it got installed, I am not talented in any of those things. I survive though, and that is better than the alternative. Thanks for sharing that piece of knowledge.

My condolences for the loss of your friend! I never really gave it much thought before but, you're right (or should I say correct.) They drive on the left side of the road in St. Thomas and even that is a huge adjustment for me as a right handed person. I can't imagine an entire world set up for people who use the opposite hand as their dominate. I see a promising business opportunity for someone to start making power tools for left-handed people OR maybe conversion kits that allow people to convert off the shelf tools.

Thanks Eric for the condolences and the support. Unless you live it, being left handed, you or anyone else probably wouldn't notice. But like you pointed out when you experience it, then it makes an impression.
Some makers have started realizing and are designing tools that can flip the handles around to accommodate lefties, I have a couple drills that are that way. Fishing reel makers have know about it for a long time and most spinning reels can flip the crank to make it were they work for either hand.

I found this very interesting @sultnpapper! Both my parents were right handed and they had nine children. Out of those (us) children, two are left handed. Interestingly enough, those two are the oldest and the youngest and the youngest is one of twins. Thought you might find that interesting! :)

I am glad you did find it and that it was interesting is a bonus for each of us. It makes you wonder what in the DNA or what ever it is that determines the dominate hand was different that two ended up lefties.
Both of my parents were right handed and my two brothers and sister are all right handed, I am the only lefty in the family.
Thanks for stopping in and sharing that with us.

You're very welcome @sultnpapper!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61986.23
ETH 3026.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75