ULOG - I still like to play games (board/card games that is)!

in #blog6 years ago

I have some great memories of playing card games as a child. Each side of the family had their favorite.

My Mom's side of the family always played Skip-BO.

The goal: Move all of the cards from your stockpile into one of the 4 building piles. Building piles grow from 1 to 12. The Skip-BO card is used as a wild for any numbered card you may be missing.

My Dad's side of the family played Phase Ten.

The goal: Be the first person to complete each of the ten phases (in order). If two people completed Phase Ten on the same hand, the person with the lowest points won.

dom.jpg

My Wife And I Are Game Compatible


I am blessed that my wife (who is also my best friend and greatest supporter) enjoys playing games as well. We have spent hours of our married life gathered around the kitchen table spending quality time with each other as we engage in some friendly competition. We are both a bit competitive!

And as our family has grown​, we have invited our kiddos to be apart of our gaming culture. What a site it is to see all 7 of us gathered around the kitchen table or circled up on the floor.

Board games and card games are best played with other people. Games help create memories. They challenge our minds. They bring us together. I hope you can find someone (or even better, many someones) who you are game compatible with.

Dom2.JPG

My wife bought a cool storage box for our growing​ collection of Dominion cards.

Dominion - The Best Game Ever (IMHO)


Right now, Dominion is our family favorite. We played Settlers of Catan, and then moved on to Carcassone (a tile placing game). But once we found Dominion, we knew we had found something special.

Dominion is a deck-building game. Each turn a player purchases a new card (sometimes multiple cards) and adds it to their growing deck.

Every dominion game is different based on the 10 Kingdom Cards that you select. The standard setup includes

  • 10 Kingdom Sets (various types of action cards)
  • Treasure Cards - Copper, Silver, and Gold
  • Victory Cards - Estates, Duchies, and Provinces

Our family owns 2 different base sets and two expansions. We have over 100 KindgomSets to choose from. According to Wikipedia, if you owned all of the cards, you could enjoy 1.9 quintillion unique game combinations (source).

dom3.JPG

Just Last Night


We had friends come in from Texas to visit. We talked, we ate, and we played Dominion together. At midnight we said, "Just one more game." At 1:20 AM we were saying goodbyes to some dear friends.

Card games and boards games should not be only about the game. Part of the adventure is being with people who you love and care about. Part of the excitement is making memories and big belly laughs. Part of the process is teaching someone something new and learning from other people.

For me, playing games (even as an adult) means gathering around the kitchen table and spending time with people I really care about.

dom4.JPG

My name is @SumatraNate, and here is the proof that this is my story.

Sort:  

I love Dominion! You're so lucky to have someone to play with. I usually wind up playing with myself (against myself) 😢. I even have one of the extension games. I love the box your wife got for yours.

You're making me more determined to convince some of my friends to learn to play. They seem to find it too complicated to want to really learn.

I am sorry that you can't find someone else to play Dominion with. I have never tried to play it alone.

What extension do you have? We have Intrigue, Prosperity, and Seaside.

Tell them that @SumatraNate's kids can play Dominion. Really the basic rules are easy to understand, and once you understand what each card does then the game does not feel very complicated.

I will taunt them with the fact that it is literally child's play!

I have Prosperity and am thinking about getting Intrigue... one I have some steady playmates.

Well, I would recommend only using the base set for first-time players. Intrigue has more attacks than the base set so it may scare off some people (that is until they are hooked).

I love games, puzzle games are my favorite but I enjoy Pictionary and card games a lot, Risk is fun too. So nice of you and your wife to carry that love of games to your kids. You know, I am a strong believer in that saying

Growing old is mandatory, growing up is optional.

Have fun and enjoy your games!!!! 💚

Oh, I miss playing Risk. I would have Risk nights with my friends in Indonesia. We would start at 9:30 and play until 5 the next morning.

Playing games (or not) is usually influenced by family culture. I am glad it is apart of our family's culture.

Mm Dominion is fun. I think my wife's preference for games are ones that don't require you to plan so much and are engaging in more creative ways, like Dixit. I like both styles. I should go find something similar.

It is nice to meet other people who like to play Dominion. I have never played Dixit. I will check it out.

I like to play games also - Played 500 and canaster with my father for years :)

Thanks for sharing your favorite family games.

Personally I believe that you are never too old for playing board games. Such games are perfect no matter what the number of the age is :)

Completely agree. Games are fun for all ages. And it is amazing how much you can learn/teach from a quality board/card game.

I came from a boardgame playing famly as welll and our weekends were spent having a "friendly" sibling competition (physical harm was not against the rules)


This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

My 3 oldest daughters are already great board game players. They enjoy the competition, but we draw the line at "physical harm." :)

Thanks for stopping by.

Bermain dengan anak dan istri tentu momen yang sangat indah dan selalu dinantikan. Dengan bermain game bersama akan menambah kehangatan dan keakraban antar sesama anggota keluarga

Did you like playing uno

I do like planning Uno. It is an easy game to learn and is fun to play with many people. Thanks for leaving a comment.

Playing with the child is the most different aspect. The best of life is the moment.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by sumatranate from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66095.77
ETH 3184.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12