Looking For Changes

in #blog6 years ago

This is going to be one of those whiney "whoah-is-me" posts. Just a heads up.

Burned Out

I'm currently on my second career, this time around as a Physical Therapist Assistant. I work in home-health and I do enjoy it at times. I've met many people that I've come to care for more than a professional level. There are a couple of patients that I stop by and check-in on from time to time to see how they're doing.

I've been asked to be a pallbearer fro a patient

I've seen people on the brink-of-death make an amazing turn around

And I've been given a prosthetic leg as a "thank you"

But lately, I'm not feeling it, I'm zoning out during sessions, and I'm finding ways to think of what else I could be doing. Specifically I'm thinking about ways to work more on Steem projects and the witness I run with @isaria at @steemcreative.

What Am I Thinking?

Last year, I saw this post about a monetized learning project but, unfortunately, it seems to have stalled.

So I need to improve my skills for the witness and my own sanity, so I've decided to start learning to code. I started JavaScript the other day, and have been doing some research on what else to study.

I'm leaning towards Python, as it seems to be the most compatible with JS and Steem, but I suppose Ruby is an option as well.

So what's the big deal?

It's not really, I guess. There's a part of me that wants to do this for Steem, there's another part that wants a full life/career change. I am second guessing which one I should have started with.

That's it, this is here more for accountability to keep going when I get distracted.

@steemcreative is a joint witness venture and first Husband and Wife witness team of @swelker101 and @isaria, focusing on user engagement, creative content curation, contests, and supporting worthy projects. Please vote for our witness at https://steemconnect.com/sign/account-witness-vote?witness=steemcreative&approve=1


Thanks to @zaxan for the banner!

Thanks guys.

Shane @swelker101

Sort:  

That's awesome man, always a liberating feeling to hit that decisive point of change-making. Good luck with the coding stuff!

It is! It's also a bit intimidating. Thanks for the well wishes.

be you and do what you need to do Shane .. rock on

I am, as you say, rocking on. Thanks, Shadows

If coding doesn't work, we'll get you going with fiction. You could write awesome humor stuff.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64777.26
ETH 3101.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84