[Freewrite] White Lies & Desperate Promises

in #blog5 years ago (edited)

When I joined @utopian-io last year, I told myself it was a perfect decision - an amazingly inspiring organization to work in while continuing to publish on the Steem blockchain.

That was a (white) lie I told myself, and this wasn't the first time.

Being the workaholic that I am, I quickly gave up everything in favor or Utopian and dedicated all my time to finding ways to promote the project that inspired me. Just like with previous such "work crushes", my Steem blog was among the firsts to suffer, along with my social life, my novel, and other aspects in my being sacrificed for the utopian dream. My posts became shorter and further apart, with little to no original content I can be truly proud of. On Facebook, friends have messaged me to ask where I've gone to.

I think I need to recalculate my route. In fact, I am promising myself I will.

20190305_112119.jpg
Illustration: Succulent I managed to propagate in a particularly adorable tiny kitty planter

Not that there's anything wrong with working yourself to the bone for a noble goal. Dedication is a virtue. It's just that too many important things get demoted in importance in this tunnel vision I've adopted yet again. It's like a particularly intense relationship for me. Sure, it feels amazing to give your all, but often what you are left with, at the end of the day, is a hollow shell devoid of creativity and vitality staring back at you from the mirror.

It's almost funny when I think of it. The polyamore that I am, claiming it is unfair to expect any one person to satisfy all your needs, found myself dedicating so much attention to the one thing that demands it.

I can spend the rest of the post complaining and making excuses for how I am repeating past mistakes, or I can mark some points on this new route I am taking to avoid driving myself off a metaphorical cliff. Some are far destinations, miles of work away, while others are really just right off the path.


Yes, I am having that kind of, well, couple of months?

Go back to writing

Work writing is not writing. It doesn't fuel my imagination, it doesn't burn in me to be written, and though it (sometimes) pays the bills, it doesn't satisfy my need to make art from words. So it's about bloody time I picked up my novel, and got back to writing. If that destination seems unreachable, even a short story or poem are better than nothing.

Publish anything

With my thousands of followers on various social media channels, including Steem, it's really a waste I stay so quiet. And it's not like I don't have anything to say. My winter balcony garden is doing great, my adventures in woodworking continue (and I have yet to lose any digits!), and there's no shortage of interesting content out there that I have commentary on.

Even if the muse to write isn't cooperating, there's no shortage of media to express oneself - from video, to sketches, to photographs and even audio content (no, I am not going to sing - don't worry). I just need to stop looking at everything I do and deciding it's not worth the time it takes to share.

Pink the Unpinkable

Never the optimist, always the optimizer, I feel I need to focus more on listening to my energies, rather than trying to utilize and push them to reach that one goal I've set for myself. Perhaps rekindling a social life would help, perhaps getting into better shape or improving my nutrition. Whatever it is, I will probably find as I seek out some spark to light my way out of the tunnel vision I've trapped myself in. A spark I desperately miss.

Will I succeed?

-=-=-=-

You know the drill: Comments are love.

Sort:  

YES - it is a "waste" for you Not to Write Fiction! Yes, Go back to writing!!!! Work writing is not writing. It doesn't fuel my imagination, it doesn't burn in me to be written, and though it (sometimes) pays the bills, it doesn't satisfy my need to make art from words.
So it's about bloody time I picked up my novel, and got back to writing.
If that destination seems unreachable, even a short story or poem are better than nothing.
I saw you use the @freewrite hashtag. I hope to see you posting there.
#MarchMadness is ongoing, and it is never too late to start!
#freewritehouse can help!
You have many talents, I know, but writing is also something you love and need to do AND others love reading your stories. What else in your life is stealing time from your writing? Something's gotta give... You write: Perhaps rekindling a social life would help, perhaps getting into better shape or improving my nutrition. Whatever it is, I will probably find as I seek out some spark to light my way out of the tunnel vision I've trapped myself in. A spark I desperately miss.
YES - You will succeed!!

Glad you are back

This post has been selected for curation by @msp-curation by @clayboyn and has been upvoted and will be featured in the weekly philosophy curation post. It will also be considered for the official @minnowsupport curation post and if selected will be resteemed from the main account. Feel free to join us on Discord!

Pink the Unpinkable! You got this :) Let the creativity rip

Sounds positive. I can't wait to see what you do with your time. Though I must say, that you may have given a lot of yourself over the past few months, it didn't stop you from creating some great things, and giving me lots of attention.

But I'm pleased to hear you'll be back to writing, and looking forward to reading it!

Your novel needs finishing!

Or at least some progress!!!

I totally understand and am cheering you on over here. Though I’ve been creative, this past year I dedicated to Steem and ignored my manuscripts. Now I’m focusing on my novels and my body, and hardly posting. Balance can be tricky, but is worth pursuing. 🤗💞🤗

Finding the balance is totally worth it, but in the end we are just galls who want to do everything we do to perfection, and that is just fucking impossible. Learning and accepting that already gives so much air to actually make the change ;)

we are just galls who want to do everything we do to perfection

So accurate. Jumping head first and giving it all. And it's so easy to forget that perfection is impossible, and that our value does not hang on us reaching it.

A great read.

Sure, it feels amazing to give your all, but often what you are left with, at the end of the day, is a hollow shell devoid of creativity and vitality staring back at you from the mirror.

I can so relate to this! Most of the time I just work and work to the point where I don't even take care of myself. I think I need to set my priorities straight.

Thank you for this thought-provoking post.

Wooha! Such praise coming from you as a comment on a random freewrite rant is the encouragement I need to write something of actual value. Thank you! <3


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17