Whatever Dood - June 2018

in #blog6 years ago

It's June 5th and I haven't done a Whatever Dood for the month, so here we go. What's up with The Dood?

I'm writing this on the Chromebook that I bought for when I travel. My Dell Inspiron has finally died. It suffered a cracked case from a defective hinge, then shortly after that it suffered a hard drive failure. I think I had the thing for around 6 to 8 years. It served me well, and will certainly be missed. In the meantime I've been shopping for a new laptop, however, the more I use this Chromebook the more I'm starting to like it! If it could just handle graphic design, and coding better, I'd be hooked!

I can't believe we're halfway through the year! 6/2018 that's crazy, this year is just flying by! Not super impressed with the crypto markets compared to last year, but the current market conditions have brought a lot of us back down to reality. Shooting for another galaxy most of us would be happy with that moon shot currently. As for me, I'm optimistic and positive. Although there's a lot to be bearish about, I think these market conditions are temporary. Reading through the headlines, there is actually a lot to be bullish about.

So I haven't been doing a lot of trading. For the most part I've been sitting on the sidelines. Occasionally I'll buy some coins when I like the price, then hodl them because even if the price goes up, I feel I'm selling to cheap. This strategy isn't making me a lot of money in the short term, so I may start swing trading some charts I like soon. I just have to get past this, "I'm selling too cheap attitude!"

Not trading, I've had a lot of time for other things. Been doing a lot of riding on my motorcycles. I now have 2. I kept my Honda Shadow 750 and recently aquired a 2018 CSC TT250 dual sport. It's a Chinese motorcycle built in California. I've considered buying a dual sport for awhile now but wasn't sure how much I'd use it or enjoy it, so I thought the inexpensive motorcycle, $2,300 USD shipped to your door, was a nice solution. I've been riding it all over the place. I've barely rode my Honda at all. I'm currently planning on taking it on some long distance rides and seeing how it does on some country backroads.

So speaking of travel, I've got a bunch of different destinations planned. I plan on taking a practice run on the bike with all the new camping gear in the next couple weeks. I'm currently waiting on a different sprocket to arrive, that should lower my RPM's while I ride on the highway. That should put a little less wear and tear on the tiny engine. Till then I may take a ride out towards the Pennsylvania border and do a little camping out that way. Hopefully this will happen in the next couple weeks. Other destinations could include, the Adirondacks, Vermont, and a ride along the St. Lawrence Seaway and Lake Ontario. The plan is to take a couple mini vacations and see how the little engine does on long distance drives. If it does good, I'll be planning on heading out to Colorado, and Utah, possibly even California by the end of summer.

Wanting a better phone camera to document my travels, I recently bought a new Moto Z2. I've been taking a lot of pictures with it trying to get used to its settings. I decided to start a weekly photo blog, and I've been posting my favorite shots from each week.

https://steemit.com/photography/@the-bitcoin-dood/the-dood-s-weekly-photo-blog-6-3-18

I now have the phone from my MotoZ2, my old Samsung Stratosphere phone which is still my favorite camera. A Nikon D4000 which I never take on the bike, and a new iTek Action Cam. When I go on my trips I'll have the MotoZ2, Samsung and the iTek Action Cam if I ever figure out how to use it.

The iTek was a gift, and I've just figured out the basics. Now I just need to figure out how to mount it to the bike. It's like a generic GoPro, and the mounting hardware it came with is a bit to be desired. I should have some working videos up shortly.

On a final vacation note I've been doing a lot of research on navigation apps, gps, and apps that locate camping areas. Experimenting with GPS has been a lot of fun and I've learned a lot about how GPS systems work. I've converted my old Samsung Stratosphere into a GPS system now. So I can use that for both a camera and GPS system when I want to.

So that's about it. For the tweeted version... Learning GPS, taking lots of photos, getting ready to travel, and sitting on the crypto sidelines as far as trading is concerned.

Thanks for reading and taking an interest in The Dood. Happy travels and happy trading everyone.

Sort:  

You got a 1.91% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @the-bitcoin-dood!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66272.75
ETH 3183.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09