Craig Ferguson Versus The Skrauss a lineage of emulation

in #blog5 years ago (edited)

IMG_20181123_094825791 - Copy.jpg

"You should be a comedian," she told me, "You got the looks." Here I stand in my talk show and art studio, ready for hijinx.

As a child I thought childish things. I wanted to be Bing Crosby. Nobody was cooler and he got all the girls, though, at the time I didn't care who got any girls. It was good enough that Bing Crosby was so smooth and cool. Speed Racer was also cool but I didn't desire to be him. The next time I became aware of this desire to become someone else it was Bono 2003. I had just rediscovered all their 90's era work including Passengers, How to Dismantle an Atomic Bomb dropped and I went and looked up all U2's work. There was something disobedient and yet wise bout Bono. And on top of that he embodied the cool affect of music. Music can make even the weakest of lyrics profound. The Beatles' “It's been a hard day's night, I've been workin' like a dog. It's been a hard day's night, I should be sleeping like a log,” is actually somewhat embarrassing when read off the page. Music, however, elevates it into a sublime piece of art. As Syteve Allen demonstrates in this clip:

Eventually I gave up these unrealistic desires and went back to being satisfied just being myself. Then last night I read on Vice that Craig Ferguson is the king of sweet talking the ladies.

Oh, is he now? I followed the bait and bang I spent the next two hours watching Ferguson. I always thought he was funny, but I had never realized that he was great at developing rapport with his guests. The women love him and everyone likes him, even Dr. Condeleza Rice, a high-powered university lecturer and former head of state.

So then I decided that I wanted to be Craig Ferguson. Why not? You got to start with somebody. Steve Allen began shooting to become Jack Benny, Johnny Carson started by aiming to be Steve Allen, David Letterman started by emulating Johnny Carson, and Conan O'Brien copied David Letterman. We all start by having a vision in our heads and shooting for it. Along the way we become ourselves. I read this in a self-help book once. Possibly verbatim. It's not a difficult string of sentences. I don't recall the book, but I do recall the wisdom. Emulation leads you to yourself.

Now I ask myself, who should I interview on my talk show Image For hire? My first post here was my first video portion of my radio talk show. It will be interesting to see how it develops. Or maybe it won't. I'm not a seer. Let me ask you this: now that everyone on earth has a talk show, podcast, and t.v. show on several online platforms, why are we bothering? Everyone can self publish and have their friends and followers buy their books. So who's eating all this media? Here, let me take a bite out of my arm. Salty and bitter with a rose water finish. But if I season it with some Craig Ferguson I can make it sweet and mischievous, Crosby smooth, and Bono affected.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70839.13
ETH 3563.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77