How Did We End Up with a Word Like 'BLOG'?

in #blog6 years ago

Blog.

Check out this BLOG. I want everyone to see my BLOG, by me, @therealpaul. Here's the blog.

Isn't that a terrible sounding word?

'It’s a Blog.'

'Hi, I’m a Blogger.'

I have a blog

IMG_3501.jpg

Typical Blogger

Try saying it out loud. ”BLOG.”

Screen Shot 2018-06-02 at 8.54.16 PM.png

I thought about what it sounds like when I tell people, ”I have a blog.”

ME: "I have a blog."

SHE: "Ok... eww."

'BLOG' sounds like a type of medical condition.

It can be frustrating when I admit that I have a blog to someone, and they say things like "you should have a doctor look at that."

"Is there any way to get rid of it?"

Afraid not. I explain that this blog is in the blockchain, and it's permanent.

'Blog' can be used as a verb


Blog. An ugly, mean, nasty word. What could it mean?

When the ambulance arrived, the suspect wasn't moving-- the cops had obviously blogged him brutally with their nightsticks.

Could it be a bodily function of some kind?

ME: "I was blogging today."

SHE: "I wondered what that smell was."

I hesitate to use the word at all, it always sounds gross.

ME: "I feel like posting a nice blog."

SHE: "You disgust me."

Screen Shot 2018-06-02 at 9.10.40 PM.png

The thing is, I can’t take that word seriously, it sounds like the setup for a dirty joke of some kind, no matter what the word actually means.

Don't worry, it doesn't look like this will be a particularly long blog. (That's what SHE said!)

When I first started writing this blog, I thought every word had to be perfect, and many hours were spent shaping paragraphs into balanced and coherent thoughts. I had to quit doing that.

I had to quit taking it so seriously, because no matter how well-written this blog post is, it is still a blog post.

I blogged this, right in front of everyone.

I'm blogging right now!


image above by me, 2018, it's Saturday night, and I'm entertaining myself here with this absurdity of a post. Thanks for looking in!

IMG_2143.jpg

click @therealpaul for more

Sort:  

You are not a blogger which you want to tell us ,so far as I know ,you are a very good personality who has every talent ,you can write in every fields .More than that you are an artist and a singer and what not ...But i don't understand why you wrote like this.Stay happy and healty my steemit friend.

I can write in different styles, but writing comedy is not my strongest. I don't like the sound of the word 'blog' so I decided to write about that, for a laugh. I laughed. I think that choice to post my terrible comedy is hilarious, but I'm easily amused! Thanks for looking in.

nice photo
it,s cool

Thanks! I appreciate the vote.

Thanks! I appreciate the vote.

Hey @therealpaul... thought I'd chime in! I know there's the #funny tag there but I love to share information, maybe you already knew this but someone else might not!

"Blog" is actually short for "web log," as in a log on the web. At some point, someone decided it was worth shortening it to one syllable. Probably the same person who came up with the word zine.

Same person, no doubt. I remember seeing that word 'zine' and it was years later when I learned that it was just short for magazine. It sounds like the cure for the blog; 'Got a recurring blog? Try Zine for instant relief.'

That's pretty cool to know..

Well now @sizuka, you've either said too much, or too little..

nice photo
it,s cool

Nice blog @therealpaul, there is funny but i do not see it

Nice blog @therealpaul, there is funny but i do not see it

I get that a lot, I probably shouldn't use the 'funny' tag; just because it makes me laugh does not mean it's funny to anyone else.

Haha!! It is an awful word, but if blog sounds like a disease, then what does vlog sound like? Vlogger. Who came up with these words anyway?

Gotsta get some sleep now, call you from the road ;)

When do we get the Vlog version? I thought it was a funny read, but then again, i could not tell a joke if my shoe was untied. so I were slip-ons.

I feel slightly ridiculous when I say I am a blogger and a youtuber -it sounds so temporary, superficial, commercial - that's why I don't say it. I just say my main job (I work for a NGO).
Blog to me sounds like a fart more than a body fluid. What I find obnoxious the most is that even other sophisticated ancient languages, such as Italian and Portuguese, are incorporating those English words into tech sector (blog, mouse, computer, googling).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28