Lord of the Cats Vs. Beulah the Stinker- The Winter Games Begin

in #blog5 years ago

They resented the fact that I was their ruler-- I wasn't even a feline, and yet I had made myself their lord.

As cats, most of my subjects maintain the idea that they are somehow superior to me, since cats will always suppose that they are simply better than any other life-forms around the house, including the humans.

IMG_1252.JPG

This thinking is allowed and even encouraged under my reign, as I never underestimate the nature of these beasts when it comes to their belief in leadership and hierarchy; they take it very seriously, and indeed a couple of cats will spend countless hours contemplating who is Top Cat, plotting and scheming against one another. This endless squabble keeps them focused on cat things, allowing me to go about the business of ruling my kingdom without interference from them.

In my castle, the cats are always struggling with an underlying sense that their lives are controlled by a higher power, even as they claim themselves to be independent and free. Sometimes they look at me with some suspicion as they add up their lot in life, connecting the dot with the laser pointer, so to speak. Mostly though, they look at me as the cat-wannabee who bumbles noisily around, always trying to sit on their cushions. Yet, even in their lofty perches, even with their delusions of liberty, they sometimes wonder if I'm smarter than I look, and they glare at each other with great irritation from time to time at the mere thought.

IMG_1342.JPG

This is exactly what I want them to think. A state of perpetual cognitive dissonance in the subjects can be useful, and any cat who suggests that a human might be controlling the cat world is quickly booed and hissed out of the house by the rest of the glaring crew. If the human had any claws at all, wouldn't he have used them by now? They might laugh.

Of course, the cats here have all figured out that I know how to open doors, using just one paw. Once they understood my ability, it was inevitable that they would begin trying to use me to open doors for them, and to then become troublesome for me. Doors are sacred devices to a cat, and even the act of using a human like me to open a door is a religious experience for them.

Ancient cat lore boasts a tale of a cat who could open a door just by yelling at it, and to this very day, every cat will try, at least once, to invoke that same magic, often with good results.

The cats see humans as tools in these door rituals and incantations, and some cats-- dark little sorcerers that they are-- have learned how to animate humans using a combination of repetitive chants, urine, feces and vomit in order to open these sacred doors upon their whim.

IMG_1337.JPG

These cats around here though, they don't believe in magic. They know that I know how to open the doors, front and back, and these conspirators will use terror, riots, vandalism and even chemical weapons against me if I don't answer their demands in a timely fashion.

As I write this, it is quiet, but only an hour ago I was under attack; the South entrance of course, where Beulah found her way inside the castle through the door with a standard 'poor kitty' chant. Having gained entry, she wanted out, but I, as her lord and master, refused to open the door again so soon, as I had only just warmed up the room. Unpredictable and dangerous, Beulah pressed the button, and I mean she nuked the place with a real stinker, then noisily dug but didn't cover the turds up and instead ran from the litter box gravel straight up to the kitchen countertop with a smug flick of her glorious tail.

I opened the North door, tossed Beulah out, along with her first officer Sooie (let them scheme outside in the cold for a while) while I initiated emergency response to the chemical godzilla turd that Beulah had just detonated inside the kitty litter box.

IMG_1253.JPG

Beulah had won this round, and it looks like it's going to be a long, cold, stinky winter in this little castle with these two cats. I let Sooie back in for some treats, gain some loyalty and create a rift in their allegiance and all, and when Beulah comes back in, there's going to be a staring contest, a stare off between me and Beulah, and I will win.


all of the cat pics above are mine, 2017, story based on actual events but taken from the diary of a Machiavellian cat farmer that I made up for sport and entertainment today
IMG_4721.jpg

thanks for looking in!

Click @therealpaul for more

Sort:  

"They resented the fact that I was their ruler-- I wasn't even a feline, and yet I had made myself their lord." I just cant stop laughing. Have to finish the read :).

Haha, they are something other, those felines ;)

At one point in time my mother in law had nine cats, and visiting her in her little apartment was a harrowing experience haha! Now she has only three, it is much more manageable.

Nine cats is painful to imagine! In recent years I've found that I can't handle more than 2 cats at a time. I wasn't planning on having any pets, but this was a boarding house for cats for a while there, and I guess I was the crazy cat guy.

It is painful in reality too, haha!
I don't blame you, two seems like the right (or maximum) number.
Man plans and God laughs, isn't that the saying? LOL!

lol, this was great. It's also one of the many reasons I don't have cats. :)

Starting too wonder if I have cats, or if they have me!

You're a genius lol. 🙏🦁

It's just the feline inspiration, nothing more!

Be glad you only have two of these mystical furry creatures Paul. We have 8. Over 20 if you count Grandma's cats and all the feral kitties that live outside. Believe me when I tell you the cat gods rule our castle. Not a day goes by that they don't plot world domination.

We had 5 in this little cabin at one time after a rescue mission, now I've finally whittled it down to a more manageable 2. Now there are times when I open a door and there is no cat there waiting, but they had the place surrounded there for a while, always a cat or two underfoot. Sounds like you know that feeling!

That was so adorable great it was to check out :D

When times are tough, cat pics!

Definitely some things eases the life :D

beg_cuddleblanket_teddy.png

Hello @therealpaul, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64799.61
ETH 3102.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83