The Beginnings of the Winter Garden- Growing a Bit of Survival Food

in #blog5 years ago

If I had been a great gardener, or even a gardener with some consistency and devotion, I wouldn't be buying greens at the grocery store, but I would simply be plucking them from my own quaint little garden throughout the year.

If I were a serious gardener, I would have found a way to get this fall garden started back in the first part of August instead of the last of September.

Instead...

Let's have a look at what is actually happening in my garden this Fall.

IMG_4872.jpg

In the above photo is the mini greenhouse where I grew all of the kale last year, and that kale flourished into the summer before bolting to flower, then to seed.

This year, a couple of those kale seeds have volunteered to sprout in that bed:
IMG_4789.jpg

Mostly though, that bed is supposed to be spinach this year, and a few of those seeds have started to sprout now:
IMG_4791.jpg

Broccolini

We will see if these broccolini sprouts will make it through the winter, or if I can get it to produce anything at all.

IMG_4783.jpg

I have a bed prepared for these sprouts, and the frame is already there to support the plastic sheeting when it gets colder.

IMG_4870.jpg

IMG_4786.jpg

Clearing out this bed, I found a few rainbow chard that had made it through the summer, hiding in the weeds. A bit of water and they should start growing some leaves again.

IMG_4874.jpg
IMG_4875.jpg

Then there's the frame for the little spinach house, I think I'll fill it with spinach again.
IMG_4871.jpg

When the insects and varmints started hitting the garden this summer, I quit watering anything for a while there, but now it's cooler, and lots of good growing time left, especially when I wrap the plastic over the houses to keep things warm, greenhouse style.


all images above are mine, 2018

IMG_4721.jpg

thanks for looking in!

Click @therealpaul for more

Sort:  

Even when my partner was actively gardening we were still buying things from the store as we couldn't grow everything we wanted and we're spoilt brats that want things XD

The garden looks pretty good to me anyway, hope the plants survive the varmint attacks :)

Haha, yup, I once had a nice garden but still took my spoiled butt to the grocery store for stuff I didn't have but wanted!

These plants do better in the protection of the greenhouses when the weather cools down, less bugs, and the bigger wildlife can't get to them as easily.

I have wondered how much I can grow under lights in my basement. No chance of growing anything outside here during winter. :-(

I have a sunny window area that I've started some sprouts in, but never tried growing much food with indoor grow lights.

My house doesn't have windowsills and I already have plants everywhere. I may have better luck with herbs now that I have a central humidifier so I brought some Thai basil inside. So far, so good.

Next year I'm growing some Thai basil again, but in a pot, so I can bring it inside! I'm going to miss my fresh basil this winter.

This is the second time I have dug it up and put it in pots. It survives transplanting so if it's not too late, you can still do it.

That is great to hear, I'm going to do it, we haven't had a frost yet.

Well... now I want to get my garden restarted.

This is definitely a bad idea, especially since the last time I tried this everything was overtaken by zucchini - and we didn't even plant any zucchini!

Sounds like the easiest garden ever- as long as you like zucchini that is...

A winter garden. Interesting as I read your post. I would be curious where you are to grow food in the winter. I know Iowa where I live gets hit with snow ....that 4 letter word. LOL Thanks @therealpaul

I make little greenhouses over those beds, hoping we don't get a lot of snow this year. We're in Northwestern Arkansas, sometimes winters are mild.

You just planted 0.10 tree(s)!


Thanks to @nateonsteemit

We have planted already 4634.63 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 20583.71
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Your greenhouse beds remind me of wee fairy houses. So cool to unearth lost chard volunteers et al!

will be looking forward to see more post of garden :) winter is going to be awesome

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75