On being a landlord ...

in #blog5 years ago (edited)

For various reasons I sold my old home in my old hometown of Tromsø, we took up some more loan and bought a "renovation object" in our own neighbourhood - we're currently renovating the attics and renting out the two main floors to different people. Now if there are problems I can run down from home in 15 minutes - if I'm at home. Here is the post on our previous problem.

The sewage has been a problem for the people in the ground floor for several weeks already. At first we thought it was just a common local problem with the outlet being a bit clogged, typically by hairs from taking a shower - a quite ordinary problem and considered to be within the kind of problems that tenants should be able to take care of without involving the landlord. I haven't been too much on the ball on that issue until yesterday- except for giving hints and suggestions and lending them different tools for unclogging the outlet.

Some few days ago there was a run-up for the disaster - the full sewage pipe completely clogged. My wife deflected the problem over onto our renovation master, he was easily available and knew just what do do and whom to call to get it done - a bit "sucker" tank car came and emptied the tube. The main culprit was said to be old pipes and big pieces of rust - the pipes are some 65 years old, and expected lifetime for such pipes are 40 years. What I learned only later was that they also found quite some wet wipes in that "plug" blocking the sewage.

We expected that the tubes would last for at least some few months if not years after they were sucked clean and the tenant instructed not to throw wet wipes into it, so we planned to get the tubes exchanged after the work with the top floor was finished - but no, yesterday it was a problem again. The renovation master called me in the morning and asked for permission to exchange the tubes the next day already. Then I got another call in the evening, it was all of a sudden full emergency. "Massacre!" the Polish lady exclaimed. I first just wanted to hold my hands over my ears, close my eyes and say "this is going to be OK, you can certainly handle the situation until the tubes are exchanged?", but after a short while it became obvious what I had to do. We do have a car, I don't use it often, but this time it was very handy. I went right to the shop where they sell everything and even boat equipment, bought three porta-pottis (hopefully one will be enough, so I can return the other two unopened), the blue liquid to use with it, two buckets and lots of micro fiber textiles for cleaning. Then I went to have a look at the carnage and try to help cleaning up. I also told them that I'd leave the door open at my home in case they wanted to see my toilet, and I gave the bottom tenants our prepaid cards for the swimming pools owned by the municipality so they could take a shower there.

The carnage was horrid. There were a major overflow in the bathroom in the ground floor, sewage all over the floor - a little bit more and it would have been flowing over the doorstep. The tenant there said that they were waiting for it to "run down a bit" before they would start cleaning. I explained them the sewage level was slowly dropping not because it was running down the outlet, but because it was dripping through the floor and into the basement! I threw the biggest micro fiber cloth into the pool and drained it into the bucket - and then two thoughts appeared in my head. For one thing, there were probably a handful of buckets with sewage on that floor, it would take ages to try to mop it up with a textile. My other thought was that I had dirty hands, but couldn't wash them with water. Back to the shop again!

This time I bought anti-bac and wet wipes for having in both floors, I bought yet another dehumidifier to try to dry up the ceiling in the basement, and I bought a manual bilge pump with tubes - such a thing with a big handle that is supposed to be screwed in place in the boat and used to evacuate water in case of emergencies. So it was back to the house again, I got help from the tenant in the bottom floor - while I was pumping sewage from the floor outlet and up out the window, she would use the shower to flush feces, pieces of toilet paper and whatnot towards the outlet.

Not much more to tell. I'm considering to ask the insurance company if they cover anything. I'm quite sure they won't cover the cost of pumping the outlet, nor replacing the tubes - but I'm wondering, maybe they can cover my shopping expenses? At least the bilge pump and dehumidifier was needed to reduce the damages ... well, the same can be told about the porta-potti, sort of. And the floor that by now has been thoroughly damaged by sewage, that may be an accident covered by the insurance.

I will spare you for the sight (and smell) of the bathroom with some few cm of sewage on the floor. Here are some photos from the basement below, where it's still dripping from upstairs:

Photo taken by tobixen
2018-10-30 21:33:52 localtime - full quality

Photo taken by tobixen
2018-10-30 21:34:11 localtime - full quality

Photo taken by tobixen
full quality

Photo taken by tobixen
2018-10-30 21:50:08 localtime - full quality

Photo taken by tobixen
2018-10-30 21:50:15 localtime - full quality

By now there are three dehumidifiers in the basement, hopefully that will reduce the damages in the ceiling there.

In the end, it feels good to do useful work; the tenants seemed grateful that I care about their situation, I have done what I could to reduce the damages, I've utilized my maritime experience to solve landlubber problems, and my step counter shows that I even managed to do 11808 steps despite all the driving today.

Selected photos available in original quality on IPFS QmYQvUDKvKSUXMngNmf1n9nMPodkuv38jWRVpf9X254jdU. The CC BY-SA 4.0 license applies on both my photos and the article


Don't be afraid to criticize my posts. I will give a 100% upvote to any (unique) reply pointing out typos, grammar mistakes or mistakes in the facts presented. This applies to any post or comment from me, no matter how old. I also usually give upvotes to opposing points of view, particularly when a good and logically valid argument is given.

Sort:  

Well that day turned "crappy" for you. Hope it does not over flow again.

What a lot of energy that goes into rentals @tobixen. Only someone who is a landlord would commiserate with you. We have a rental!

Many thanks for sharing your experiences as landlord @Tobixen

You have had a lot of problems with this rental object.
I understand that one needs a lot of energy and useful insight into practical work to deal with such injuries. Nor should you be afraid to get dirty hands. I sympathise for all the problems you have encountered with this "renovation object". Hope you get something back on insurance for all expenses you've had.

ye a now the feeling back in oslo am renting out my flat to. sins am not the country am using and agent but sill the stress. like in january the complain it was mold but it was dust..funny a and the delay my rent a few weeks..shit a was sure it was dust. but. no choice..hope its going to be in the end...

Hi @tobixen!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.910 which ranks you at #4084 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 20 places in the last three days (old rank 4104).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 310 contributions, your post is ranked at #209.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

@tobixen, Here in Canada I ahve yet to run acrossa company that would not cover the damages. Not sure what you got for isurance but I would insist they cover everything. Do not low ball unless they say it is not covered. The point of insurance is for something like this. We had a dishwasher one time that had a leak and ruined the kitchen floor and the insurance company completely covered all expenses including labour. Good luck.

We do have some different policies, most of them only covers "sudden unexpected events", meaning that damages that has accumulated over time due to leakages, fungus, animals or other pests won't be covered.

I don't think it's reasonable to expect the insurance company to cover the replacement of a nearly 70 years old sewage pipe with expected lifetime 40 years. At the other hand, I'm pretty sure damages caused by a sewage overflow should be covered.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86