The Weird Side of YoutubesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

Whether it's turning on your favorite Rhianna music video or learning how to tie a bow tie with one hand from a tutorial (conveniently freeing up your other hand to play rock paper scissors or something), Youtube has now become an indispensable resource for many of us who use to waste our time not watching a clip of a cat riding a Roomba. Yet despite how large the site is today, you may be reassured to know that wherever you are, you're never more than three clicks away from the weird side of Youtube. You're in luck though, because I'm here to save you two of those clicks.

But first I wish to clarify that by weird I don't mean your ordinary perverted, eccentric or socially awkward type of weird; there's your Japanese school girl/Tim Burton/Napoleon Dynamite weirdness, and then there's this:

Girl with err...a gift


My guess is she's more fluent in Parseltongue than Harry Potter and Voldemort combined. This is probably the only freakish gift for which there exists no real life practical utility at all: even the three breasted woman from Total Recall could at least conceivably have triplets. If only she were a frog she could possibly catch two flies at once. I don't know if this condition is common enough to warrant a name but I suppose the Steemit community would refer to it as a soft fork.

Of course now that I'm taking you on a tour down this rabbit hole we should also talk about this:

Pimple Popping Craze!


You may be surprised to learn that there is an entire encyclopedia of this genre of videos on Youtube and they all do exceptionally well in terms of views. It speaks to our more masochistic side: we all feel a stomach churning sense of disgust yet cannot look away. It's the same morbid curiosity experienced when we witness a car crash or John Travolta's face. After a while, staring at the stream of maggoty gunk oozing out of those gaping pores becomes sort of mesmerizing. Just goes to show the fun doesn't have to end when you run out of bubble wrap if you have an acne problem.

Now I have something a little more mainstream, just some unboxing videos:

Unboxing Videos of....??


Now I never understood the appeal of unboxing videos: they make me feel like a child looking through the window of my neighbor's house on Christmas morning and seeing their happy family joyfully unwrapping their expensive presents. Then one day I was pleasantly surprised to have these self loathing thoughts interrupted by a turtle unboxing video I had stumbled upon. Apparently you can order turtles online and have them delivered via mail like a magazine subscription or anthrax. In fact, a number of websites specialize in this service: Turtle Shack, for instance, boasts being the 'premiere source for all things turtles and tortoises', which if true, puts them proudly at the pinnacle of what could only be a cutthroat online turtle retailing industry.

I eagerly watch these video to see what type of turtle would be unveiled. They are oddly suspenseful yet calming, like the first 20 minutes of a Jurassic Park movie when all the visitors are still oohing and ahhing despite knowing perfectly well that every other instance of the park opening had ended up in a slaughter. This has inspired me to start my own series of unboxing videos beginning with the mail order bride which should be arriving early next week. I hope they remembered to punch a few holes in the container for air flow or I'd have to return the product for being DOA.

Have you ever found yourself on the weird side of Youtube? What did you discover? Let me know

Oh, almost forgot:

Videos are not my creations, links are embedded within the video


If you enjoyed this article, why not Upvote, Resteem, Comment, Follow me @trafalgar

Sort:  

Love your writing style, man, and glad to see this type of quality on the platform. Followed and resteemed!

Thanks a lot
I checked out your blog and you write some interesting articles
Followed

Luckily for me, your profile primed me for potential laughter, because if I had been wholly unprepared for the hilarity I was opening up, I would be looking for a new shirt from the coffee I would have snorted out of my nose.
Why tie cherries in a knot with your tongue when you can tie your tongue in knot? Seems perfectly reasonable to me.
I beg to differ on the inability to look away from the oozing pimple poppers, ewwww, (okay I looked)
How have I not run across your blog before? I am seriously upset about all of the potential nose spewing coffee moments I have lost in the months I've been here.
And to think, I clicked on your name because it was at the top of the votes on my chapter, completely expecting to find a page full of resteems with a last post from three months ago, and most likely something dull. My whale stereotyping has been blown to bits now. (In case any other whales read this, there are a few other exceptions, maybe not this funny, but still good!!)
@hanshotfirst I see you in here, you know I love to laugh, why did you not tell me?? ;)

Thanks a lot dreemit, you're too kind
I really enjoyed your posts too, followed :)

I admit I missed the detail that you are a recent addition to this awesome community...I am so impressed that you came in swinging! Can I ask, is it bit coin that you converted? My husband is a crypto enthusiast and has a nice investment...and he has given me an incentive. Should I still be as devoted to steemit in six months he will take some of that investment and invest in steem...or rather me.
Which means (because I am wholly confident in myself here, lol,) that I'll just have to do what I can to build it myself in the meantime.
I'm thrilled that you followed me, and only ten percent of that thrill is your sp status...lol, I have a tendency to hit things like that directly, I hope you don't mind ;) But honestly, this post was freaking hilarious, I am always impressed with natural humor and you definitely have it. I look forward to more!

Great! I have been editing together 92 hours of pimple popping video. I thought it was cutting edge. I thought I would be a trailblazer. Now I'll just look like a copycat. Oh well time to start on my scab picking project.

lol tell me about it, I was live streaming a 92 hour pimple popping marathon just the other day, and I hadn't even got to me left cheek

Left cheek huh. Are we talking face?

What did I miss ?! OH dear! I am stuck with music and films too much 🙄
Those videos are better than my Empress Sisi "like a Phoenix " clips 😜
I wonder who put this text on it

haha ya there are some strange stuff out there, nice like a phoenix vid lol

Have you ever heard of those famous retro movies about Sisi, The Austrian empress? We watched those when we were kids with our mothers hahaa ! Super tacky but the text and song on top of those scenes made it look nearly ridiculous and funny for me.

haha I have not heard of them but they seem like classics, ya that video was done well =)

Man that is really freaky... soft fork... lol I like it!

Reminds me of snake...

haha ya, sorta cool and repulsive at the same time

When both sides of the tongue come together to grasp that hair pin at the end, resembling some sort of hug, it reminds of something out of Tremors... or even Jaba the Hut! lol

haha jabba the hug =)

Yes, that is perfect.. Jabba the Hug! She should market that!

I find that pretty hot actually - the girl with the split tongue LOL

You had to clarify the girl in case I thought you meant that you had a thing for turtles or something eh? :p

I plan to post some unboxing articles here on Steemit. I find unboxing videos useful when deciding whether to buy new games and models, but that's very hobby-specific.

ya they're strangely addictive =)

Wait. Are you telling me there is non weird side of YouTube?! I've been doing it all wrong! Yes I have found myself sucked into the YouTube rabbit hole. What did I discover? I have way too much time on my hands...

haha ya a few clicks in the wrong direction and finding your way back out can be messy

Ha ha.
Perfect video, excellent.
Congratulations
Follow you @trafalgar

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66077.75
ETH 3167.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01