Mt Pelion - My Top 5 Choices (Part 1)

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

As you might expect from my post yesterday, I promised to give you today a small list of the top places to visit if you ever visit Mt. Pelion in Greece.

If this is the first time you hear of Pelion, it's a mountain at the southeastern part of Thessaly in central Greece and according to Greek Mythology it's the homeland of Chiron the Centaur, tutor of many ancient Greek heroes, like Jason, Achilles, Theseus  Heracles. And by Jason, I don't mean this sexy Greek gal, but this Greek guy!

Although relatively small in size, Mt. Pelion is rich in the beauties it offers to the traveller, with a ton of beautiful beaches, small villages, waterfalls, blah blah blah! You literally needs weeks, if not months, to get a good taste of  just the popular sightseeing!

But in this post I will just give you a small taste with my top 5 choices. Let's first start with the top-3:

1# Milopotamos Beach

Milopotamos is a relatively popular and crowded beach and a popular destination throughout the whole summer. To be honest, I don't like crowded beaches but this one is just too perfect to not like... The scenery is amazing, the waters are  crystal, crystal clear and the beach "floor" is covered with tiny rounded pebbles that feel so awesome on the bare feet... I really can't describe how awesome this place is so I will let the pictures talk for themselves:

(source)

(source)

Another think I love about this beach is how it's divided in the middle by a huge rock with a small tunner in it. Just walk through it (or swim around the rock if you are claustraphobic!) to reach the other half, where usually things are a bit less crowded as the average Greek is too lazy to walk 2 minutes:


(source)

There is also a cool cave-like structure waiting for you once you pass the small tunnel:

(source)

Actually it goes a bit deeper in the mountain than what the photo would make you think but that's the only picture I could find on google images so you will have to do with that :(

Now, let's move to the next destination!

2# Ntamouxari Village & Beach

Ntamouxari is a small sea vilage in Mt. Pilion. After some walking in the really beautiful and sceneric village you see the natural port of the village that gives a unique pirate-like vibe.. Although it's a port, the waters are clear crystal and you can swim on them. Unfortunately, I couldn't find any images  that give that "pirate" vibe so you will have to do with this one:

(source)

A one minute walk after the port and you reach the actual beach, which looks something like this:

(source)

And this:

(source)

Again, the waters can't get any more crystal! And don't forget to close your eyes and listen to the sound the waters make as they pass over the stony sea floor. Highly orgasmic!

3# Fakistra beach

If you are anything like me then you prefer to enjoy nature without the presence of other humans, other than your loved ones that is. If that's the case, Fakistra is a must visit. Wild, secluded, beautiful:

Fakistra is a bit difficult to reach. The road is is highly tilted, the asphalt in a really bad condition and you have to walk a relatively difficult 10-minute path to reach it. This is more than enough to keep the majority of the lazy Greeks and foreign tourists away from it :) 

The End!?

I know, I promised to share 5 places but my real life work duty is calling me and this post took more time than I expected! I promise to continue tomorrow, with 2 AMAZING places you won't find in most touristic guides. Who knows, maybe you will get lucky and I will even share the funny stories of how I discovered them :)

Until the next post....

Steem on!

Important Note: I know the pics cool and all but believe me, they do no justice to the real thing :)

Sort:  

Πολύ ωραία είναι η πλάκα στον Αϊ Γιάννη!

Jeeze... going to be there soon!

Chic article. I learned a lot of new things. I signed up and voted. I will be glad to mutual subscription))))

Wow...very beautiful place .excellent photography

nice I am sure I'll hit it up when I go to Greece.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66077.75
ETH 3167.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01