The first photos ever of Mt Olympus

in #blog5 years ago (edited)

As you may know if you follow my posts, I am working for a small local newspaper in northern Greece. 

Today I was preparing a historical article for our website and while doing that, I stumbled upon some really cool historical shit, including the first ever photos of Mt. Olympus and its peak. They were taken by Frédéric Boissonnas, a Swiss photographer from Geneva whose work is considered crucial for the development of photography in Greece during the early 20th century. Here's a photo of him:

The really cool photos you are about to see were taken during the first "official" conquer of Mt. Olympus, in 2 August 1913. The members of that expedition were Frederic Boissonna, Daniel Baud-Bovy and their Greek tour guide, Chris Kakalos. According to the official history, this was the first time the highest peak of Mt. Olympus was conquered. But to be honest, I bet many other humans had set foot there before. After all, conquering Mt. Olympus during summer is a relatively easy task as the peak lays at only 2.918 m height. Perhaps a sheperd. Perhaps a curious adventurer. Perhaps whatever. I find it really hard to believe that in the 3000 + years that humans actively inhabited the surrounding area nobody before Frederic had succesfully managed to reach the peak...

Oh well.. Who knows. Enjoy the photos:

Olympus' highest peak, Mytikas

The "throne of zeus" (2,902 metres)

Chris Kakalos

Petrostrouga location


From left to right: Boissonnas, Kakalos and Daniel Baud Bovy

Just a rando shepherd with his flock somewhere in Olympus

Of course a bunch of old black and white photos can't do Mt. Olympus any justice. Here's a video that will reveal to you some of its secrets:

Ok, that's it for today. See ya in tomorrows post :* 

Copyright Mumbo Jumbo

  • All these photos have been taken over 100 years ago which means that they have long lost their copyrights and belong to the public domain. Which means I can steal them and profit. I like stealing. I like profit. Win, win.  
Sort:  

You have filled me with nostalgia for my days in the Himalayas!

Really? Show us some photos!

That was almost 50 years ago. Any photos I had (which wasn't many) have long disappeared in the various moves and life changes since then. I have lost everything I had but the clothes on my back three times since then.

You have filled me with
Nostalgia for my days in
The Himalayas!

                 - onceuponatime


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

These are amazing photos and a big achievement for the team that went for this historic adventure @trumpman

Super cool! Share

Thank you kind sir. You are a scholar and a gentleman!

Great find to dig up those photos 👍. Btw have you been up to the top of Mt Olympus yourself? If/when I get to Greece that's one thing I'd like to try.

Haven't been to the top, but hopefully I ll set foot this summer!

Nice one!The original book of these photos and the whole adventure is also at the refugee of Kakalos.

I am awaiting for your photos to steal them 😂

kakalos???.....kakalos????
το post αληθεια πολυ ωραιο και οι φωτογραφιες αλλα ειναι δυνατον???...Κακαλος????..αχαχαχαχαχαχαα......καταλαβαινω την προσπαθεια σου να αποδειξεις το ποσο σοβαρο παιδι εισαι αλλα οπως βλεπεις το καρμα σου δε σε αφηνει να απαγκιστρωθεις απο το penis-related syndrome ...καλημερα

Χαχαχαχχαχαχαχχα

Congratulations @trumpman! You received a personal award!

DrugWars Early Access
Thank you for taking part in the early access of Drugwars.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hi @trumpman!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.433 which ranks you at #646 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 3 places in the last three days (old rank 643).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 354 contributions, your post is ranked at #29.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Whaat? These images are pretty neat!

How dare you not shitpost this time?!

Btw what's your job related to? :о

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86