An update to my pug who got necrotizing meningoencephalitis

in #blog6 years ago

About a month ago I posted about how I cashed out Steem in order to cover some high unexpected veterinary bills when my pug suddenly got affected by necrotizing meningoencephalitis, an inflammation of a part of the brain. At that point he was not that badly affected, but it got gradually worse, and we did realize that the medicine did not have the desired effect on him.

007 (6).JPG

Back when he was a young dog - seems forever ago!

This meant that we had to make the decision to euthanize him. He had most likely gotten an irreversible brain damage that would make him unable to function properly, and he could never have gone for a walk, play or anything like that for the rest of his life. That is obviously not a nice life for a dog, so we did not really have a choice.

I kind of just wanted to post this because I have gotten some questions about how he is doing after I made the original post, so I figured that some of you might appreciate learning how the story ended.

IMG_0115.JPG

There's nothing like heating up in front of the fireplace.

Anyway, thanks a lot for the support, the best wishes, and the kind words that you guys have been sending me over the last weeks!

It feels very weird to suddenly not having him around, after he have been a vital part of my family for the last 6 years, but that's kind of what we have to deal with when owning dogs. I still have another dog to come out for walks, and we are actually also waiting on a new puppy that we've been trying to get a hold of for quite some time, but that's a story for another time.

DSC_0487.JPG

One of his final days; looking a bit concerned.

Sort:  

Det leitt å høyra om denne hunden du mista @Valth
Håpar at du vert godt nøgd med den nye valpen du har bestilt.

Med vennleg helsing
@Siggjo

Takk. Det blir nok en veldig ulike hund, ettersom det er en veldig annen rase, men så er jo heller ikke målet direkte å erstatte denne da. Takk for kommentar @siggjo :)

Huff da, det var virkelig trist å høre @Valth
Aldri noe gøy når man mister kjæledyrene sine.
Håper dere får tak i ny valp snart selv om det ikke vil være noe erstatter.

Nei, det er det absolutt ikke. Men noen ganger er avliving det eneste realistiske alternativet :(

Valpen er allerede reservert etter en ganske lang stund med å kontakte oppdrettere som planla kull, og klar til henting om tre ukers tid, så sant det ikke dukker opp noen helseproblemer med den innen den tid. Det blir en ganske annen rase enn mops denne gangen, da det er en del helseproblemer med mops.

Aww sorry to hear about your pug. Yeh the name of that thing doesn't sound particularly pleasant x_x And yeh, it's the sucky part of having a dog in your life, sadly. I've done that to myself a few times now and will continue to do it, and so will you by the sounds of things.

Hope you're doing all right.

No, it's not pleasant at all. It can be translated into something like "brain swelling with brain cell death".

Thank you for your concern, @ryivhnn.

😥 sorry for the loss @valth . I could remember when you posted about cashing out some steem to treat the dog. Never knew it will turn out this way, all is well dear. Things happen.
I can really feel how the dog was special to you.
Its well. With time you will get over it, I have also lost a dog that was badly wounded when it came back. Up till now I really don't know what happened. It died at the hands of the vet doctor.
So sorry dear, all will be well.

Thank you for saying this, @cyprianj .

No, we never really want to think that the worst will happen, but sometimes it does.

Yes, the best way to get over it is just to take my time. It really sucks to loose a companion like this, but it gets a bit better every day. I'm sorry to hear about your loss too!

I'm sorry for your loss. I'm glad you were able to do right by him, an aunt of mine had a dog that suffered a severe stroke, poor thing suffered for 3 months before she came to terms with reality and let him go.

Regardless, your dog was lucky to have you.

Thanks. It can often be really difficult to make the decision to euthanize a dog, and I don't think it's uncommon for people to postpone it until a point where the veterinarians think it's way too late. I'm sure your aunt did what she believed was best, even though everyone else probably saw that it would be better off to be put down.

True, I'd say it serves as a pretty good reminder of the importance of medical objectivity, particularly in regards to end of life options. Often times we can love something/someone so much we end up causing them harm due to a refusal to let go.

Yeah, absolutely. I feel like some vets are a bit "afraid" to tell owners that it's time to put the pet down, but this might just be a regional thing. Because a professional medical opinion should be worth taking into account when making such a choice.

Sorry for your loss. Pets can really get deep into our lives and provide so much connection for us all. They leave a hole when they are gone, that's for sure!

Thank you. Yeah, absolutely. Things have been very different here after he died, but at least the hole will feel smaller after a while.

Time helps, for sure.

So sorry to hear that, @valth. Although I know it’s part of life when having pets, I’m having a hard time dealing with that aspect of life. :0(

Yeah, it's kind of strange how difficult it can be to deal with the loss of a pet, even when we know for sure that they will die long before us (most likely). Thanks for the comment, @simplymike.

No problem. I know what it’s like. Last November, I had to let go of a cat and the dog within 10 days of each other, and already, 1 of the other cats is going through his last couple of weeks. It’s breaking my heart, but there’s nothing you can do but accept it...

Ouch, that's pretty bad luck. I have no idea how much worse it would be if I also had to put down my other dog now while still grieving the loss of the first one. That must be really difficult.

To be honest, it has been one of the worst times of my life. It still is.
But somehow, you’ve got to deal with it.
‘cos life goes on, no matter how hard and unfair it may seem.
It’s really a big thing on my path of personal growth: to learn that losing is part of loving, and that the loving was worth it. And to never take anything for granted, and enjoy every minute you’ve got...
The 4 cats left are all between the age of 17 and 21, so I just know I’m up for a wild emotional ride...

Well said, @simplymike. It's kind of what we have to do when owning dogs or cats; they are bound to die before us. So we just got to keep living, and it gets a little bit better as time goes on.

The 4 cats left are all between the age of 17 and 21, so I just know I’m up for a wild emotional ride…

It definitely sounds like you are in for a bad time. Let's hope they all end up as one of those crazy old cats that live to become 30+ without much health issues ;)

Fingers crossed :)

So sorry for your loss @valth :( I know how it feels. We had to do the same to our poodle a few years ago. But he was almost 18 year old. Been with us for a significant part of our lives.

Thanks. Yeah, it's really though, and I can just imagine how difficult it must be when the dog has been with you for almost two decades.

My condolences. It's one of the worst parts of being a pet's companion, I've been there.

Thank you. Yes, it's without a doubt the worst part!

Ohhh...I am so sorry...I am sure you did your best for him.
He was lucky to have you. You will feel the void he left for some time.

Thank you for saying that :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64579.45
ETH 3101.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83