Shocked...Still am, a theraphy for curing homosexuality.....?!?!

in #blog5 years ago


Source
Yesterday while driving home this newsitem on the Dutch national radio got my attention. Obviously some political parties are trying to forbid a certain therapy, a theraphy of which is claimed that it will cure homesexuality. I couldn't believe what I heared. It is not new (as I see looking online for background information) but to me it absolutely was.

The therapy is initiated buy the Christian community because they are convinced it is a disease and can be cured.... Speaking of purblind.... Me and my wife always have teached our kids that everyone is equal. We have never talked about "homesexuals and the rest of the people", like if they are any different then you or me, cause they aren't. Why is it so difficult for religious people (not all of them of course) to accept and respect everyone, just like the bible tells us to. I just can't understand the narrow-mindedness.

I don't think they have ever thought of it what they are achieving by putting teenagers (for which the therapy is developed) in a position where they litteraly are being told that they aren't normal, that they are sick because the are homosexual...Any idea what it does to a kid who is already insecure because of the feelings they are experiencing? I don't think so...

Like I said , people are all equal to us no matter what... If you're a homosexual, lesbienne or whatever, it doesn't make any difference for me. The funny thing is that many manuals ar rewritten over the years, modernised, adapted to the spirit of the times. Why is it so hard to modernise a book which is that old and full with hurtful and discriminating statements. Are you really that scared of people other then yourself...???

Respect one and another just for being who you are........

Let me know what you think of it, if you like of course....

ps. This is by no meaning a attack on Christian people what so ever, like I said I respect everybody. But some things I just don't understand.

Have a rainbow colored day !!!


Alt text
Proud member of SMG


I fully support @s3rg3 and @exyle, who are witness with their developer group @blockbrothers for the Steem blockchain. If you want to support them, they would appreciate your vote here.


They are the creators of Steemify, THE notification app for your Steemit account for IOS.


steem-banner.jpg

Sort:  

There was actually just an article a couple of weeks ago where this guy who was a world renowned conversion therapy expert divorced his wife and came out as gay. I thought that was just about perfect. It literally made my day. I am pretty religious, but I also acknowledge it isn't my place to be judging anyone. I also don't think it is a choice or something that can be "cured". It's just who you are.

Exactly, It's part of a persons being. And I respect you saying "it isn't my place to be judging anyone" , I whish more people (especially those with the big mouth in the press) would live by those standards... The story of the therapist is just brilliant :)

I'm with you all the way on this one. I simply do not understand judgemental religions. They make no sense to me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64579.45
ETH 3101.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83