The Traveling Dentist Vol 2: New Journey Old Dream!!

in #blog6 years ago

adventure-1850912_640.jpg

Only like 250 more weeks until I'm a dentist!


Survived Week 1 of Dental School!

To be honest the very tame eleven hours of lecture from this week didn't have very much material relevant to any up coming quiz or test, but I still pulled about five hours of studying on Friday to try and get back into the swing of things. The school toys to ease us into class, which in reality is like them slowly motioning us towards a cliff before we plunge to our deaths.

A tad bit over dramatic, but the crucible is coming.

Many describe the first year of dental school as Professional Hazing and I sort of fear the truth in that. Soon I will start a very ambitious schedule of 8-5 everyday of school, followed by 4-5 hours of studying until it's time to go to bed and do it all again.

Trying to make a plan on how to tackle this curriculum has me up some nights because I feel that no matter how many time I try, their doesn't seem to be enough hours in a day to do pretty much anything other than going to class, studying, and then sleeping.

alarm-clock-1193291_640.jpg

Why can't there be more time in the day?!


I do have two options, which are waking up early to study and free up time after school to decompress, or just sacrificing my eight hours for an occasional five or six.

The down side with waking up early is that I feel like I would want to study after school as well, which would tip the balance that I am desperately trying to establish for my sanity.

If I sacrifice a few hours of sleep a night, I can see my sleep deprivation snowballing into another situation where my mental health is in danger.

Through all of my time pondering how to survive and more importantly succeed in my first year of dental school, I came to the conclusion that efficiency is at the center. It seems like for me to find my balance is going to take some trial and error, so I hope I am able to figure it out sooner than later.

Thanks for letting me share my journey with those of you who are choosing to stick around in this crypto waste land! Looking forward to reestablishing some connections with some of my old friends and hopefully inspiring a few people to follow their dreams!

Until next time, this has been a message from your friendly neighborhood #spiderblogger!

Source: 1, 2




Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66407.27
ETH 3219.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34