Favourite Film of all time

in #blog6 years ago

Bildschirmfoto 2017-12-16 um 22.17.36.png

The other day I was reminiscing with someone who was born in 1996. I got to think about all the things that happened that year, who won the Champions League, who was popular in music and also what movies did I see in the cinema. That gave me the inspiration for this post.

Looking at all the films that came out that year, I think it must have been one of the best and most productive years ever. To refresh your memories these are some of the movies that came out. I am certain you know several of these (in no particular order):

Bildschirmfoto 2017-12-16 um 22.21.57.png

  • Romeo + Juliet
  • From Dusk till Dawn
  • Scream
  • Independence Day
  • the Rock
  • Space Jam
  • Mars Attacks!
  • Jerry Maguire
  • Sleepers
  • the English Patient
  • Primal Fear
  • Twister
  • A Time to Kill
  • the Nutty Professor
  • Mission: Impossible
  • Happy Gilmore
  • the Birdcage
  • Striptease
  • the Long Kiss Goodnight

Bildschirmfoto 2017-12-16 um 22.20.16.png

I am sure I have missed several films. So I'm sorry if I missed your favourite out. Several of these films, I still count as my all-time favourites.

It is difficult to make an all-time top list as it also depends on the category. I wouldn't want to compare apples with pears or Nemo with the Godfather.

To do my list a bit of justice I will attempt to categorize the films. Feel free to give me your suggestions and comments:

Bildschirmfoto 2017-12-16 um 22.19.27.png

Classics: Cassablanca
Mafia: Godfather (the first and original one)
Drama: Sleepers
WW2: the Longest Day
Cartoon: Nemo
Historic: 300
Action: Independence Day
Horror: Scream
80's: Rain Man
American Revolution: Gettysburg
Christmas: Love Actually
Thriller: Primal Fear
True Story: the Insider

Honorable mentions: Scent of a Woman, Law Abiding Citizen & American History X

Do you agree with my list, do you think I'm missing something? I look forward to hearing your suggestions.

Doron

Sort:  

Some of the movies I did not watch, will certainly do. My favorite movies are: Oldboy (original korean version) and City of God (brazilian movie). American movies are Casablanca and Citizen Kane.

I don't think I've seen any of those. I'll have some time coming up, so I might just have a look. Thanks for the suggestions.

Looks very old

Depends on your age, Cassablanca is old, the others ... well as I said, it depends on your age lol

I believe the technical term is "Classic", rather than "old" ;-)

It's all a matter of perspective ;-)

There's a lot to like about your list. I loved Being There with Peter Sellers. It's a sort of dark comedy, and the first time I saw it, I laughed so much the lady in front of me moved. :)

There are a lot of comedy's that I love, this is one reason why I left them out. I remember seeing Hot Shots as a kid and I couldn't stop laughing, or 'There's Something about Mary', or 'Dumb and Dumber' and off course 'the Life of Brian'. Maybe I'll have to do a separate post just about comedies :-D

old movies are good...completely agree...you will never get bored with these movies....

With so many genres its difficult to select one movie as an all time favorite. Nice list though. I would have to say my top three would have to be Arthur with Dudley Moore, Bram Stokers Dracula and What women want with Mel Gibson.

Hi @wolfje, I connected with you while going through some posts at Steemit just because I like to watch films and read about films/seasons. I'm glad I found you. Keep sharing the awesomeness.

Steem On!

Your list looks cool, some more movies that can be added are:

  1. Chinatown
  2. Modern times
  3. Citizen Kane
  4. Shawshank redemption
  5. Silence of the lamb

Oh, I like your suggestions. I like Silence of the Lambs as well, but I chose Primal Fear as it turned me into a Edward Norton fan, his performance was absolutely brilliant. I'm not really into prison films, but yes the Shawshank Redemption was a great film, just not one I regards as a favourite, but that's a personal thing off course. That's why we can discus about it ;-)

You're a collector indeed... Love these list, gives me a serious memory bump... Movies are ever gold and green. Thanks for sharing would watch them this Christmas period over and over again

Yeah, same here. Thanks for your feedback.

1996, that year I was very young. Only after when I was in college, I just saw Romeo and Juliet, jerry maguire. I really like them.

It was a fantastic movie year. Really cool thinking back about that.

Musical: Jesus Christ Superstar
May/December Romance: Harold and Maude
Drug Related: Altered States (honorable mention:Traffic)

I like your suggestions, but when it comes to musical 'the Producers' gives you a good run for your money. Both the original and the remake. I saw it first in theatre in London, so I was prepared for the jokes, but it was still very funny. I have both at home.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66931.79
ETH 3249.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10