Comments or Blog Posts - What's More Important To You?

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Hi friends!

In about a year of my presence on Steem blockchain, I've published 275 posts and posted 3,470 comments on mine as well as fellow Steemian's blogs.

For several months, I used to spend more time in reading others' posts and comments and then putting my comments there. I loved it that way as I love to consume information than disseminating it. Not everyone is a blogger. I still don't consider myself one. I used to earn a lot more from the upvotes I received for my comments than on my posts. Whenever I checked my potential rewards on Steem Supply, my Comments tab was always displaying higher rewards than Posts tab. But something compelled me to change my behaviour.

Should comments be treated as step-sisters to posts?


Many people who upvoted my comments when wanted to read my blog, they were disappointed to find no recent blog posts of mine for upvoting. I found here a weird psychology on this platform which makes people to upvote posts with their full voting weight but putting zero or only a partial VW on comments.In fact, there are many people, who if wants to upvote your comment, they won't, but instead they will visit one of your posts and upvote it.

I know, some people think that their upvotes on a post may help it to get that post in trending section but it's a rare possibility as I ain't talking about whale upvotes. Many people by default used to give comments less importance over posts. However, Steemit didn't use to discriminate posts from comments. Even today, the total Posts count figure include all posts and comments. Same is also applicable when earning rewards. So there was no distinction made between "posts" & "comments". I don't know, why a "Resteem" feature was not provided for "comments" & "replies". Twitter does a better job on that!

Anyway, some of my concerned friends told me to put my comments as "posts" as they thought that my comments deserved a better treatment ..LOL! I did pay heed to their advice and converted few of my potential comments into a full-fledged posts and they did earn better rewards. But somehow it didn't sound very appropriate way to me. So I started writing some stuff for my posts.

Now, I write more posts and a few short comments as replies to my readers' comments but I couldn't find much time to read and comment on many other posts as I used to do earlier. Now when I see my potential rewards on steem.supply, it's disappointing to see hardly any rewards from comments. Almost all my rewards come from my posts, these days.

My deepest gratitude to all commenters who interacted with me on Steem blockchain


Recollecting all my experiences about comments and how most people discriminate upvoting comments from posts; I feel highly grateful to all those Steemians who took out time and put effort to read and comment on my blog. I'm honoured by all of you.

Special Mentions:


So here's a list of top commenters to my blog in last 6 months (since January 1st, 2018):

AccountCommentsCharacters typed
@geetharao7213349
@dhingvimal302236
@mehta254978
@mightypanda233279
@paparodin216894
@chetanpadliya202853
@tusharvasave192452
@akdx186985
@tsnaks181240
@mysearchisover173076
@clumsysilverdad141360
@neelamgahlyan141438
@rentmoney142173
@celinavisaez132999
@thenomadictales133105
@nicoleslife127465
@hatoto112291
@lippycruz111374

Below is the list of top commenters based on the total length of their comments. Although I appreciate the content of all comments irrespective of their size, I'm specially grateful for the extra time spent for looong comments. Since I don't know typing, it's always tough for me to put long content. Hence a little bias 😉

AccountCommentsCharacters typed
@geetharao7213349
@nicoleslife127465
@akdx186985
@paparodin216894
@crypticat96357
@anjkara46347
@yvesoler66107
@nehab115414
@pibyk55356
@malloryblythe35238
@stwbll75105
@mehta254978
@rosmilage64633
@aclarkuk8254586
@elleok104406
@beanz33311
@mightypanda233279
@limabeing83147

All these data was provided by @abh12345. I always love and appreciate the interesting statistcis @abh12345 & @paulag always come up with. The fascinating thing about these data-loving people is that they keep digging and analysing data and serve it to us to interpret on our own. It's like serving graphs and charts for Technical Analysis and its up to the analyst to what to make out of these data. For me, it generated a deep feeling of gratitude in me and became a source of expressing my gratitude to all people who interacted with me over Steem.

Thanks for serving this small but an important list to me @abh12345!.

In case, you do not know, both @abh12345 & @paulag are running a joint witness server for some months now and you can consider these duo as your witness too.

Footer GIF xyzashu.gif

Sort:  

I am very happy to see my name in your comment list. I don't think that i have posted so many comment but this is the reality as you shows. The amazed by seeing this data.

We tend to forget what we think is insignificant. But it may mean the world to someone else. The data is being presented as a symbol of gratitude to all my readers here and to reinforce the fact that not only do they matter but are an integral part of this blog..

Thank you for mentioning my account name @xyzashu. Bro I think Usher's steemit account name is no @abhi12345. In fact it is @abh12345. Have a great time on this platform.

Thank you my friend for pointing out my mistake. 😉

I have been on steemit for about six weeks and have published 50ish posts and over 2200 comments.

Clearly, both posts and comments have been way too important to me!

That being said, I value comments a bit more than posts. For one, every comment is basically a very small and intimate post all by itself. A post also helps you to form a bond with someone else on a much more personal level than a regular blog post probably ever could.

Of course, nothing beats exchanging comments under your own posts.

What a great outlook & stance towards comments! I absolutely love your take on this issue and completely agree to your viewpoint.

Hi @xyzashu.... So surprised to see my name on the top!... Thank you so much for mentioning it. Even I didn't know this... :)
All the best for your hard work here...

Figures have their own way of telling a story but they don't lie! I'm indebted for all your interactions with me here. Thanks a ton @geetharao!

Great list you have achieved.

All thanks to readers like you!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05