A day at the Beach!

in #blog6 years ago

IMG_3542.jpg

My last post was before I left on a trip back to where I grew up as a kid. so the first thing to post about once I get back is the trip to the beach. Sandbanks Provincial park has been a place we have made day trip[s to as a family, escaped from high school to play hooky, a great camping spot, and now full circle to as I took the family there on Canada Day. https://www.ontarioparks.com/park/sandbanks

This gives you an idea what the camping plot is like and you can see how close it is to the beach which is why it is great for families.

First though, is the drive through so many small towns along the north shore of Lake Ontario and the Ferry Ride.

IMG_3531.jpg

It is neat to me and probably amazing to some across the world that the ferry ride is free. Pretty short too as the kids can get out, snap a picture and you are pretty much there.

IMG_3530.jpg

After the ferry ride, you drive through a small seasonal town and today, the main route is completely blocked off for a Canada day parade......which added at least 30 minutes to a fairly short trip. That was a little indication as to how the afternoon would go as when we finally make our way there, the park is closed because apparently every Canadian and visitor in the country are there and it is at capacity. A provincial park at capacity!??!

Well I was not going home empty handed so I did some driving and found another lesser known day use beach at the park, found the parking was at capacity there as well, and parked out on the county road and walked in.

Here are a few shots......

IMG_3532.jpg

The view from under the sun shelter I put up. Srsly if you are a family of white folks, this is a definite necessity if your kids are beach bums. http://www.canadiantire.ca/en/pdp/lightspeed-bahia-quick-draw-shelter-0765466p.html#srp

IMG_3541.jpg

IMG_3544.jpg

It was a fairly relaxing day at the beach and I behaved rather well. No beer at all, and only a couple @davedickeyyall breaks the whole time! When it was time to pack up and hit the trail to get some supper, I already knew where I wanted to go.......


https://midtownbrewingcompany.com/

Menu! wasn't bad and they even had a kids menu which made it an easy sell for dad.

I had a delicious session IPA called Prince Eddy's Fresh Coast IPA and even got to model my new Wasaga tshirt (https://steemit.com/ulog/@zekepickleman/i-know-a-new-band) while drinking it!!

IMG_3549.jpg

I finished off the night taking the one kid who could stay awake down to see the Canada Day fireworks. They definitely don't thrill me any more but I know how much I liked fireworks as a kid. Hopefully created a few memories for the family.

zekepickleman.jpg

You only get about 18 summers with your kids..........so make every one count! Any beaches in your area?

Sort:  

oh your last sentence just made me sad, about just having 18 summers with your kids. You also have plenty of other good moments, for many more years thereafter =) Nice pics, thanks for sharing!

Haha not sad! Just happy I learned that before they are gone!

So true about the 18 summers ... it makes me sad to think that I’m already going thru the thirteenth year with my oldest . :( enjoy your trip !

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by (LoD)Zeke from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Please don't be annoyed. I just voted your post. Please be my minnows booster. Thanks in anticipation
https://steemit.com/colorchallenge/@a0000reblog/colorchallenge-my-entry-to-tuesday-orange-d14a013d5d927

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66579.21
ETH 3282.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30