PARROT'S LIFE - SO, HE CAN EAT OUT OF A HAND, RIGHT!

in #blogs6 years ago

Parrot is all happy receiving a royal treatment, visibly chunkier and has a great appetite. Our fatherly pal learned what 'cooperation' means. Well, he is learning. Kind off.

This is his 14th day with us, and he is slowly assuming normal birdy behavior.

Parrot is now very active and he learned how to use bars for climbing so we are quite happy seeing him playing and climbing.

He was definitely starved because his movements are completely different now, and he is learning new food every day.

I solved his atrocious attitude towards us with the simple trick. I remove his food portion after he is done eating, and before I return it back to him I request him to eat from my hand.

Want it or not, he soon realized that if he does it, a food bowl is coming back, so after a few futile attempts, he is now more than happy to do it.

My folks are using the same trick, so a parrot should learn to have security in all of us the same.

A parrot hisses and snaps, but it doesn't try to intimidate us or fan his tail while I am inside of a cage, and he didn't bite any of us till now.

By the way, my hands are more inside of a cage than outside when I am communicating with him, so, I guess he is not a biting prone.

When I remove a feeding portion it leaves a pretty big hole in a cage where a parrot can exit, but he is not willing to do it unless he has to stick his head out looking down for a bowl of food, millet or bread.

All of that is lined up next to the cage so he has to stick his head out in order to show he is hungry.

Some people advise trimming flying feathers to the cockatiels in order to need a human assistance more, and then they are more willing to listen and to be trained.

I have a few reasons not to do it.

First of all, we have a pet cat who is still showing interest to the bird. In case of the worse possible scenario, if a cat suddenly goes against the rules, the only way a parrot can escape is by flying.

Second, I don't want to think constantly if I am going to step on a poor little guy whenever I enter our study room. He should be able to remove himself in case I am too sleepy to notice him. Or any of us.

Third, a bird can use study room easier if he has the ability to land on furniture by flying.

I will try to teach him food and security is in a cage, so he can sleep inside of it and during the day he can be outside.

I didn't entirely remove his food. He still has greens stuck in his cage, vegetable, and fruits, because I want him to learn what that is. But, to my misfortune, he shows little to no interest in that food.

I found a great advice to either make the chop, a mixture of various seeds, nuts, vegetables, and fruit or to be persistently giving a morning portion of vegetables and no seeds unless vegetable was eaten later in afternoon.

We will see how it goes.

He is still arguing with himself in a mirror but I notice one thing. For some reason, he becomes defensive, spread his wings, hisses or opens a beak very wide, sometimes he flaps wings, sometimes he doesn't and he is incredibly afraid squeaking on invisible something in the room ... but it is not me and nobody else is with us in the room.
In that case, soon after that reaction he is climbing all over the cage towards me and doesn't calm down until I get up and stand next to him and talk.
If I enter a cage,he moves back and hisses. Doesn't really let us touch him.
He is producing chirps of a different intonation after that. Usually, he is either alerting ( craws or any unfamiliar noise) with high pitch squeak or chirps when he needs something.
I find no instructions for this bizarre behavior, but I found this video on YouTube.

It could be a request for attention, but my parrot doesn't do that.
Maybe mine is more drama 'educated', after all... I didn't call him Johnny Depp for no reason.


Thank you for reading and visiting my blog!




Supporting: #steemrepair #isleofwrite #balkanblockchain #thesteemengine #adsactly #preppersonline #ocd-resteem #steemstem #steemians @creativecrypto @sndbox #poetsunited


VOTE @mahdiyari FOR WITNESS.

Sort:  

It seems to me that you guys are making incredible progress. He eats out of your hand? A pretty good show of trust. Something I'd guess has been seriously lacking in his life before.

I love the tales. I really am enjoying the 'rebirth' of Johnny Depp.

I am trying all day long. The good thing is that I work form home so he had enough time to get used on me, otherwise it would go slower.

Haha you two are so funny! He will one day be a world star when you see what he learns haha so many plans :D

I couldn't live with a bird, I don't know, it doesn't fit me. But Johnny is so funny haha

I am funny, he just doesn't care. Star? Well, he surely behaves like one.
The only problem I see with him is that seed crisps fall around his cage, but that is no problem as long the rest stays where it suppose to.

Beautiful post. I like it.

Looks like you have a lot of fun with the new pet, I'm glad to hear that :)

He does look healthier now. For the first 5 days he was mostly eating and napping.

like newborn. Great, I'm happy for you :D

Ooh, another talented writer and Steemian and animal lover I know, who is not yet on board with @kona's #dailypetphotography - which has consumed me for weeks, and I keep thinking I should kick the habit, but I'm not the least bit motivated to spend less time admiring animal photos. Thanks for this, @aschatria! I'm amazed at your patience with a hissing parrot who doesn't let you touch him.

Thank you for suggestion, I will see what I can do about that photo challenge, maybe I join.
I have to be patient with him, no other choice really.

Zanimljiv post, nisam upućen u ptice tako da mi je ovo sve nepoznanica. Pozdrav za J.Deppa

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28