Contest: NAME-A-TREE (Cherry) [Bonsai]steemCreated with Sketch.

in #bonsai6 years ago (edited)

20180623_191016.jpg

Contest: #NAME-A-TREE

This is the fourth post in this contest series. That means you can potentially win 4 SBD so far if you win it all.

At this moment, here are all the open contests available to participate in:

This is the easiest contest, and it doesn't cost anything, and won't ruin your rep. All it requires is some creativity.

RULES

  • Post a comment below.
  • Give this tree a nickname. Anything.
  • Describe why you choose this name.

Burt, Sally, and Ursula will get you disqualified.

No, I'm joking. Seriously, anything you want. Enter as many times as you like.

@creativetruth shall choose the winning comment from this post after 7 days.

Winner of this post will receive 1 SBD.

About this Tree

20180623_191009.jpg

This is a #Cherry Tree.

It is a cutting I took from our majestic cherry tree we had growing in our back yard. At first I did not think the cutting would grow, but with the right soil mixture, moisture, and sunlight nature tends to know what to do.

Here is what it looked like a few weeks ago before I transplanted it. Three new white roots had formed exactly at the base of the original cut edge. Perfect!

20180617_170927.jpg

One day I hope this tree will look close to the level of beauty that the mother tree had that it came from. Our family was very sad to see the lovely tree go, because it provided such wonderful benefits: shade, beautiful pink flowers in spring, deep purple and green leaves, and edible sweet cherries. The tree was just too overgrown, and was leaning out in dangerous directions, and the soil was so muddy that it could no longer hold the tree upright.

20180409_121330.jpg

20180409_121315 (1).jpg

As a way of continuing the legacy of that tree, we saved all the wood and leaves.

20180412_104911 (1).jpg

20180411_140514.jpg

20180412_105531 (1).jpg

We spread the chipped mulch across the yard.

20180413_182327 (1).jpg

20180413_182311 (1).jpg

We saved the stumps which are now benches for my growing collection of bonsai trees.

And now I have this new tree cutting we can cherrysh for the future.

Please help me to give this tree a new nickname in the comments below. Remember this is a contest worth 1 SBD.

The interaction and idea are very much appreciated. Thank you!

Bonsai!

Friday, June 29, 2018

Account Value: $1,935.00Votes Given / Received: 2946 / 4099
SP: 1,610.977Posts / Comments: 202 / 1301
STEEM / SBD: 0.694 / $9.050Delegated In / Out: 0 / 0
REP: 62.428Followers: 1,491 / 173 following
Curation Rewards: 1.462 SPAuthor Rewards SP / S / SBD: 0.333 / 0.042 / 0.046

STEEM In / Ex = 1.263 / 1.26837BTC / ETH/ LTC = 6186 / 437 / 79.4
SBD = 1.73993Gold/Silver oz. = 1,253.05 / 16.13

Value of Currencies in USD $ on this Day


Sort:  

Cool the way you "retired" your old cherry tree. I usually wait for a disaster before dealing with old trees. Although I did finally get after a lemon tree this spring that was seriously overgrown. Like hanging over into two different neighbors yards :(

Here's my name. The cutting is straight and reminded me of a straw so I'm going with Soda Pop.

Congratulations @steven-patrick, you are the winner of this contest, which earns you a prize of 1 SBD.

I am very grateful for your participation!

The Cherry tree pictured above will be nicknamed Soda Pop.

Awesome! Thanks.

I was hoping you get more people getting in on giving a tree a name!

I don’t know why but it reminds me a little bit of a Lifesprig Wand in the game Path of Exile. Not really how it looks since it got different branch leaves on it.

As such since I’m horrible at coming up with names my entry is – Lifesprig

I am really loving how that bonsai tree is coming in on the second to last photo of the things you are growing. I can’t wait to see how it developers over the summer and what its root system does with that rock you have given it. Exciting times!

Its so exciting to watch a little cutting grow! I think because of this, I'd name this "Cherry Bean". Sounds weird hey? But the reason behind it is so that this tree can grow tall like the beanstalk in the "jack and the bean stalk" story ☺

That would be fun if cherries made beans. Would they taste like jelly beans?

I always thought it was strange when I see the red bean ice cream flavors at the Asian grocery stores. You ever try those?

@creativetruth You have received a 100% upvote from @steemconductor because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

Why all the down votes on this post?

Be careful about taking countermeasures against the downvoters. It is like the plague. If you touch it, then you will be afflicted next. It keeps spreading to more accounts they buy, so it can keep resteeming spam, and downvoting the heroes and healers.

This post kind of explains the recent activities of those working against this growing force.

https://steemit.com/abuse/@neutralizer/sdl-botnet-downvote-neutralizer-report-2018-07-03

Seems you've named it yourself. The word "Legacy" seems perfect to me! I commented on your lemon bonsai that I thought Zest for Life and Ditto were appropriate names. What do you think @creativetruth? Sorry but I'm always a few days late on these posts.....

That's okay @buckaroo. I'm going to select a winner for this one as soon after this post expires. I should make a post to showcase the current winning names so far. Thank you for your participation.

Look forward to hearing which names were given but especially seeing your lovely bonsai flourish!

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02