Sort:  

I never thought of this as a genre but why not? I googled, "feminist fiction reading list" and many books came up including, "The Color Purple". I was surprised by that for some reason.

I will check into it more. You kind of wrote a spoiler in your post giving the ending. I like knowing the ending though.

Sorry for the spoiler, haha. I honestly don't expect anyone to read this book for the drama. It's more like a social critique with a little action to make it more interesting and palatable.

lol well you read it. I am not planning on reading it but some may.

I read this a long time ago and I loved it! And it is remarkable because it was written in 1915. Have to look for the audiobook. It is probably on LibriVOx.

Wow someone else who has read it!
I didn't expect that. I read it on librivox and I think I linked it there somewhere. It's actually a great recording compared to some I've listened to.
I'm still trying to figure out exactly how to date it. I know it wasn't finished until 1916, so thismeans it was done before the Russian Revolution, Spanish Influenza, and American involvement in WW1, and perhaps most influencial before women could vote in most countries.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! You have received a 5.67% upvote from us for your 1245 Partiko Points! Together, let's change the world!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Great summary of the work and good review. This would be interesting to listen to with today’s feminist accomplishments in place

Definitely. In her day it seemed taking a stand against spousal rape was edgy and fowards thinking. Nowadays that is only okay in the most backwards societies.

Posted using Partiko Android

Very interesting reading that you recommend @abitcoinskeptic, I did not know about the existence of feminist science fiction, I can not imagine imposing style rules or labeling a writing based on a certain genre.

Thank you very much for bringing us a little literary learning is this opportunity, a fratenal greetings.

You got a 35.59% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @abitcoinskeptic! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 20 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Hi @abitcoinskeptic!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.455 which ranks you at #6550 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 262 places in the last three days (old rank 6812).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 159 contributions, your post is ranked at #56.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Come on, there must be also good books on the topic...Even that early.

Of course, I shall assume it might be better than what I think of the plot right now. Also, not easy pioneering and then living up to standards 100 years from your time.

Did you find it a good read/listen?

There are quite a bit of feminist novels from that period. I am not sure if they are science fiction or not.
I found it was a good book because it made me think a lot. However some of the debate was beyond me because they were debated on dated principles of 100 years ago. For example practicing eugenics and refusing to let people who aren't perfectly fit have reproductive rights is now frowned upon. Also, the concept that men are responsible for all social ills has been debunked. Back then the all controlling patriarchy may have been a good theory, but now the idea just comes off as sexist.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah, I'm a spoiled reader, for sure. Still, I can appreciate ideas and original thinking.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70734.57
ETH 3561.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75