Book Review: The Rooster BarsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #book5 years ago

Hi All,

This post will be a brief summary and review of a novel I recently finished – The Rooster Bar by John Grisham, published in 2017, which is considered a leugal thriller.

A4A54062-22D3-4CE1-9023-3B1573A51A88.jpeg

The Rooster Bar is a story about struggling law students, who buy the hype of a promising future through a for-profit law school, only to find the truth is not as advertised – jobs are hard to come by, the school doesn’t adequately train the students for the bar exam, and the real purpose of the school is to make money off the students. The story follows three students and shows the reality of their situation – hundreds of thousands of dollars in debt, minimal job prospects and a lot of regret on their life decisions.

While I will not spoil the story, the trio takes an unexpected path to try to get out from under their problems and causes them to be fugitives on the run.

The novel is a page turner and highly entertaining. The story is fascinating and takes lots of unexpected course changes. My only criticism is that the author, John Grisham, shows his political biases too overtly – mostly in the areas of illegal immigration and corporate greed. While I appreciate many points of view (even if they are not my own) I could have done with a little less agenda pushing.

Overall, I enjoyed the novel and give it a 4.5 out of 5.

I hope this post motivates a few people to check it out!

Take care,

Brian

Sort:  

Man oh man... when do you have time to read books B-man?

I sometimes will listen to an audiobook on my work commute... I am in the car about 25 mins each direction so I can normally finish a book in about 2 weeks. They are free to download using my local library account and an iPhone app called OverDrive... pretty cool!

That is a good use of time, nicely done!

Wonderful book review. Now I'm curious to read it. Every novel is interesting and educative for us.

Posted using Partiko Android

A Rooster bar, got to read this.

Haha, if it was a gold rooster bar it sure would be!!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations @brian.rrr! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 500 posts. Your next target is to reach 550 posts.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63966.64
ETH 3055.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87