IT’S ABOUT THE DOG: The A-Z Guide for Wannabe Dog Rescuers by Guilie Castillo Oriard

in #book6 years ago (edited)

IT’S ABOUT THE DOG:

The A – Z Guide for Wannabe Dog Rescuers by Guilie Castillo Oriard

Years ago, at an internet fiction writing workshop, I traded "crits" (critiques) with a brilliant young writer full of passion and poetic prose: Guilie Castillo Oriard.

She "subbed" (submitted) a love story about a foreign exchange student in Mexico, and it was spellbinding, even though this was her first draft so, naturally, it needed some trimming and tightening. If she published that novel, I haven't spotted it yet, but another story, one I haven't read yet, is in print.

I haven't read It's About the Dog yet, but it sounds like something @rhondak and @bex-dk would relate to.


For now, I've added it to my "Want to Read" list at Goodreads. Check out Guile's biography there:

Born in Mexico
Website http://guilie-castillo-oriard.blogspot.com/
Twitter @Guilie73
Goodreads Member SinceMarch 2012

Guilie Castillo Oriard is a Mexican writer and dog rescuer living in Curaçao. She misses Mexican food and Mexican amabilidad, but the laissez-faire attitude (and the beaches) are fair exchange. And the bounty of cultural diversity provides great fodder for her obsession with culture clashes.

Her work has appeared online and, in print, as part of several anthologies (gorge: a novel in stories and Pure Slush's twelve volumes of 2014 A Year In Stories). The Miracle of Small Things, her first novel, was published in 2015 by Truth Serum Press. It's About The Dog (The A-to-Z Guide for Wannabe Dog Rescuers), due out in April 2018 from Everytime Press, is her first non-fiction work.
published in paperback and eBook April 2018

click here for paperback / ePub / iBookstore / B & N NOOKbook / Kobobooks / Amazon Kindle

soft full-colour cover, 152 pages

paperback ISBN: 978-1-925536-19-5

eBook ISBN: 978-1-925536-20-1

To sample "It’s About the Dog," click here

About that internet writing workshop...

I met so many, many good people there. The workshop is still going, one of--if not THE--oldest writing workshops online. I became a bookaholic, addicted to first drafts and the revision process, and it was consuming all my waking moments. Like the alcoholic who doesn't dare drink another drop, I had to just go cold turkey. But I still read and love the published novels coming out of that workshop. (My reviews are at Goodreads and Amazon, except for the one I removed because a certain author, who is now deceased, had insisted I must remove the THREE STAR review from public perusal -- this, after he'd pressured me to review it.)

Amazon removes positive reviews

after scouting around and noticing that the reviewer and the author know each other via social media, but

Amazon allows negative reviews

from one-star bandits who pull down an author's ratings with ridiculous, malicious, superficial reviews. Sean Costello, for one, was targeted by a group of Christian readers who one-starred "Squall" with the same one-sentence complaint: "Profanity on page one! Profanity all over the book!" But that is a topic for another day.

Because Goodreads identifies me as one of Guilie's Friends (gasp! How is my judgment ever to be trusted?), I may have to review her under an alias--if I ever come up with an Alias Book Reviewer account.

Guilie is a wonderful writer and I'd share excerpts here, but I haven't asked permission, and I'm supposed to have deleted every manuscript ever subbed at the workshop, but that entailed so much housekeeping, I still have chapters from 2008 - 2012 lurking in file folders of my now defunct Eudora email in a laptop I no longer use.

Hackers out there?

If you find me, and if you find my lost passwords, please share them with me.

Alias Book Reviewer

I might have to follow up on this one.

Until next time,

Keangaroo

because Kean sounds like Kane (not keen, hint, hint)

Find me at Twitter:
@tea_in_carolina
novelist, reviewer, editor, book critic
fan of indie authors & underdogs
Follow My Reviews at Goodreads, NetGalley, Amazon Vine
Rants, Raves, Reviews, History, Current Events My Wordpress Blog
Perihelion Science Fiction
Let's Fry Chicken Little nominated for 2015 Pushcart Award

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

Sort:  

It’s not so black and white. It’s a myth that dogs only see in black and white. In fact, it’s believed that dogs see primarily in blue, greenish-yellow, yellow and various shades of gray.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86