The Captured Economy

in #book6 years ago

Three quick thoughts on The Captured Economy.

  1. It was much lighter than I expected. I liked it, and I was predisposed to agreeing with it having made versions of their central argument. But I guess I expected something weightier.

  2. The chapter on occupational licensing might be the single best one-stop piece I've read on that topic. Really great.

  3. The chapter on land use regulation disappointed in two ways. First, there were no specifics. They never detail the precise kinds of laws and their effects. Second, I don't know how you can write a chapter on that topic and not mention the Green movement. Those folks are the Baptists, and sometimes the Bootleggers too, in stories about limiting how land can be used. Yeah historical preservation groups matter, but the Greens matter at least that much it would seem.

It's a quick read and I learned things.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73