#PinkReads - Monthly Wrap-Up : March & April 2019

in #book5 years ago

PicsArt_05-12-06.37.16.jpg

Can you believe that it's been 2 months since I posted a wrap-up? Where did the time go?

March was a very unproductive reading month for me; I was busy with adulting (don't we all just hate that word) so was left with very little time to read - I did manage to seven seven books during this 2 month period, though, and I am happy with that.

Here is the rundown of the seven books I read:

MARCH

PicsArt_02-09-04.04.51.jpg

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

Opens at nightfall. Closes at dawn.

What can I say to describe to you how beautiful, magical and whimsical this story is?

Erin is a master at spinning words into vivid images that assault your brain like subliminal messaging causing the reader to suffer bouts of uncontrollable dreamlike states imagining the incredible world the story is set in, allowing the reader to "ooohh" and "aaahhh" at the most inappropriate of times, whereby the reader has to deflect ridicule and sneering from passersby... All in a good way!

If you've already read this book, then you know exactly what I'm talking about; if you haven't yet had the pleasure of reading The Night Circus, WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR? Go get it now!

Rating : 5/5

PicsArt_03-17-12.27.34.jpg

Sleight Of Hand by Ilse V Rensburg & Jason Hes

An action packed, magic heavy love story that takes the reader through the streets of 1920's New York, amidst gangsters and flappers and the prohibition.

The combined writing of Ilse and Jason seems to just blend seamlessly together, so much so, in fact, that you can't tell who wrote what, creating a dynamic that is just oozing with potential.

Sleight of Hand is nice enjoyable read - not too long, not too short - and will appeal to lovers of thrillers, fantasy and even romance.

Find my full review here : https://mrpinkink.wordpress.com/2019/03/23/pinkreads-book-review-025-sleight-of-hand-by-jason-hes-ilse-v-rensburg/

Rating : 3.5/5

APRIL

April saw the Harry Potter inspired O. W. L.s Readathon (https://mrpinkink.wordpress.com/2019/04/10/pinkreads-auror-o-w-l-s-readathon-2019-tbr/) so I was able to make up on the slack in March, lol.

PicsArt_04-06-01.13.28.jpg

This Savage Song by V. E. Schwab

My first experience of V. E. Schwab's writing definitely did not disappoint! I was hooked from the get go!

Fantastic world, incredible characters and writing that you can just devour, this book is sure to please.

I absolutely, positively adore August and I finally understand what a cinnamon roll is and why it is applied to him. Highly recommended!

Rating : 5/5

PicsArt_04-09-02.10.16.jpg

Circe by Madeline Miller

Wow! Just wow!

Gloriously mesmerizing, this story will suck you right in and then spit you out all wrung dry!

Madeline Miller is a genius and this book exceeded my expectations and more! I cannot wait until I get my hands on Song Of Achilles!

Highly recommended!!

Rating : 5/5

PicsArt_04-09-02.15.00.jpg

Enders by Lissa Price

I have been waiting like forever to finally read Enders and I am so glad I did!

This thrilling conclusion to the Starters duology - young adult dystopian with a Sci Fi twist - does not dissapoint!

This is not a standalone, though, so be sure to read Starters first.

Rating : 4/5

PicsArt_04-09-02.39.36.jpg

Shadowblack by Sebastien de Castell

Gah!! Sebastien de Castell is killing me with this series!!

Action. Magic. Ingenuity. Intrigue. It's all here! Fantasy. Adventure. Even a little romance! I'm totally loving it!!

I do feel that there is something a little "less" than his first book, but nothing I can put my finger on...

Highly recommend this series!

Rating : 4/5

PicsArt_04-09-02.40.25.jpg

Red Sister by Mark Lawrence

This was my first book from Mark Lawrence and... mind blown!! Now I want to get all of his books!!

I'm completely itching to read Grey Sister now, but I have to wait until Holy Sister is also in my possession before I will read it...

Fantasy at it's best! Fantastic world, incredibly well written characters and not a single boring moment!!

Also, highly recommended!

Rating : 5/5

If you've read any of these, let me know your thoughts about it in the comments below! What did you read last month? Please let me know! Until next time...

Keep smiling

Follow me :
Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/mr.pink.ink/
Blog : https://mrpinkink.wordpress.com/

Member : @teamsouthafrica #teamsouthafrica\

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70744.80
ETH 3561.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.80