Book review: Sun Tzu – Art of War

in #book6 years ago

During one of my bookstore raids I bumped into an edition of legendary Art of War by Sun Tzu, so I decided to read it finally. Book itself is a collection of practical rules and advice on how to wage a war, plan fights, logistics, maneuvering and so. However, most of it is written in pretty general fashion, these rules can be applied to various situations in life. Maybe except the parts, where Sun Tzu gives tips on army budget based on number of carriages. But maybe it's my fault.

By far, the most interesting parts of the book were about tactics, change of tactics and motivation. It's possible, that ideas presented will be well know to you (although maybe not in this form), but in my case, I found a couple brand new approaches and it changed the way I view everyday situations. Fair warning though: book is not an universal manual for success, whether you seek a stellar career or true love. It rather teaches ways of tactics, anticipation, how to deal with people as a leader and how to resolve conflicts. Still pretty useful.

If you'd like to read it, you can do so online here: https://suntzusaid.com/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66269.58
ETH 3204.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.24