Reading Myself a Story

in #books5 years ago (edited)

I used to read.

And not just quick page turners. I used to be a huge fan of really thick epic books. If a book was thick enough for a late 70’s/early 80’s multi night TV mini series, well then it was usually on my bookshelf. In my twenties I could fly through a book in a couple of nights.

📚


And then I couldn’t anymore.


I am not sure what happened. Maybe it was the internet? Or perhaps the tiredness and stress of middle age have thwarted me? Whatever it is, I have had real trouble finishing any book for the past ten years.

TEN YEARS...

🤔

We bought our house ten years ago. Maybe having a mortgage has killed my ability to read a book? All I know is my attention span for reading is shot, and when I try to read a book I always end up falling asleep.

But I totally miss reading. 😕

This Christmas I received EIGHT books. Five of these are more coffee table travel books. However, my goal is to read (and finish) the other three plus one book I got Christmas 2017. Let’s say all four finished by my birthday in July.

Goal Committed to Blockchain!


So what are the four?


Book One:

image
This book is utter fluff! I am 55 pages in and am certain I will get through to the end. Anyone who chats with me on Discord knows I love reality tv and the Bachelor franchise tops my list of guilty tv pleasures. I have been watching the series since it began in 2002!!!! It is a total train wreck (the show and my devotion to the show). The latest season just premiered a couple of days ago. Bachelor Nation has behind the scenes scoop on the producers, past contestants and story telling techniques used to create this ridiculous show. I think this book will help ease my faltering attention span back into reading. 🌹

Book Two:

image
That’s right Steemit! Michelle Obama is next on my list. Her book tour is coming through Seattle in February and I would be lying if I said in hadn’t looked into getting tickets. (Disappointingly I missed the pre-sale.) I love those Obamas and am really looking forward to this book. 💕👩🏾

Book Three:

image
This is the book I am most worried about finishing. It is THICK, but man do I LOVE the Beastie Boys. They are my all time favorite band. Their live shows were AMAZING and I was lucky to see them in concert five times. When MCA (Adam Yauch) died I was sad for the band and personally sad I would never get to see them play again. Beastie Boys Lollapalooza ‘94 and Beastie Boys in the Round concert 1998 are two of the best concerts I have ever seen, and I go to a 💩 load of shows! Biggest mosh pit I have ever escaped = Beastie Boys concert. Blocks of cheddar cheese tossed to the audience = Beastie Boys concert. The one time I got to be the girl on a guy’s shoulders at a show = Beastie Boys concert. Such good times.

Book Four

image
OK, so I cheated here and saw the Hulu show first... in ONE sitting. I watched every episode of season one on a 15 hour flight from Sydney, Australia to Vancouver, Canada. Talk about intense! However, the show made me want to read the book. The Handmaid’s Tale was written in 1986 but if show and book are the same... the story still feels too damn relevant! It’s just over 300 pages so I am hoping this will be a disturbing but quick read.

Wish me luck on my goal!

Will I get any reading done after pressing send on this post? 😂🤣

8106C640-16C0-4CBB-B984-1EA189BF7B93.jpeg


Proud Member of:

steemsugars, steemusa, teamaustralia and steemsilvergold

9CB86CFA-6F30-4489-9A16-BB88A2E78D74.jpeg
2F0909A1-65F0-4E86-BA4A-4BFC4AA18E95.jpeg
6892F780-D6DC-495B-9740-D8A1AB554B20.png
D7A68E6A-E873-40C9-8EF4-BE9C538BD0D9.png
8A1D1B7A-1089-490D-B49D-338605917210.png

Sort:  

I hear ya d-fin... i was once quite a book-worm too. I can vouch for the Atwood novel, the other two? Not so much 😜😁🤣

Other THREE. 😉

Oh yeah, that Beastie Boys looks interesting 🍆🕺

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

I think book 3 is in the wrong spot. ^^^^^ LOL

Did you want to borrow The Bachelor when I am done? I am sure you have your own copy of the Obama one. 😁

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by dfinney from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I am not able to Comment on Finishing a Book since I love to Read. I just don't read Books. Well I look at Coin Books but as a reference not to read cover to cover.............@dfinney ......... This is One of The First Books I ever Read .......

I remember these books! 😂🤣 After posting about the four books I ended up cdn omg another book out from the LIBRARY yesterday. Stephen King. ☺️

Steemit killed reading for me. Moby Dick, The grapes of wrath, 20000 leagues under the sea, great expectation and oliver twist were amoung my last reads.
You can do it finney, just hunker down.

Wow!!! Breaking out all the classics. Were these rereads or had you been in a phase of I am going to read all of the classic books?

I read Moby Dick in school. I’ve never read the others. Well.... maybe 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea in school too. 🤔

I used to really be into this author named Edward Rutherfurd. https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Edward_Rutherfurd

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66095.77
ETH 3184.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12