Would You Like to Take a Look at my Bookshelves? Prompted by Mountain Jewel

in #books6 years ago (edited)

@mountainjewel made a post about her books and bookshelves and I just LOVED it. She said: If you’d like to share your bookshelves, make a post about it and tag me!

Pam.Darcy1A.Gfld.crop Spring.1960.jpg
Reading to my younger sister

I have loved reading since I was very tiny. I don’t remember when I learned to read. When I was 8 we moved to a farm on Library Street! The library was ¼ mile away. It was open on Wednesdays and Saturdays and you were allowed to take out 7 books at a time.

It was a very old library and one summer I remember reading all the very old books on horses from the 1800’s on. There’s also one book I remember reading that came in on the bookmobile. It was titled Blueberry Summer, I don’t know the author. I’ve looked and looked for the book, but can’t find it. I’ve found some with the same title, but wrong storyline.

Our old farmhouse did not have many bookcases, just 2 I remember. One was built in under a window, the other a small free standing one in the upstairs hallway. The one under the window had National Geographics from our subscription.

Most of my books have been collected from tag sales and some from library book sales. I have a few, mostly horse books and Beatrix Potters, from when I was a child.

1National.Geographic.bookcase.Dec.02.jpg

In 2002 my husband started building me bookcases for all my books. This was the first one, to hold all the National Geographics we had collected. My son loved reading them as a child so we would look for old ones at tag sales. Our oldest one is January 1916.

Bookcases - Nat. Geo. crop May 2018.jpg
National Geographics

Bookcases - landing1 crop May 2018.jpg

There’s no more room in this second bookcase on the stairwell landing for the National Geographics.

The next one he built was for the hallway on the second floor.

Bookcases - upstairs hall1 crop May 2018.jpg

This hall bookcase has non-fiction: plants, health, how to do, herbals, cat, and misc.

Plant books crop May 2018.jpg
The plant and herbal books

5.3rd.bookcase.living.room.filled crop.June.03.jpg

The 3rd bookcase he made was a small one for the living room. It held many of the homeschooling books for a long time.

7Big.bookcase.filled.crop June.03.jpg

The next one was the big bookcase for the living room. Its bottom 2 shelves held the photo albums and oversize books. There’s Madeleine L’Engle, James Thurber, E.B. White, James Herriott, and lots of humor on the top shelf.

Bookcases - landing2 crop May 2018.jpg

The landing book cases hold many of the mystery collections we have: Sue Grafton, Robert Parker, Dick Francis, Marcia Muller, Agatha Christie, Sara Paretsky, and Rita Mae Brown. These bookcases aren’t built it, just a collection from family and BuyNothing.

Finished - David's room SE crop Oct. 07.jpg

There are 3 of these bookcases on the walls in this bedroom. There’s also a floor bookcase made by my middle brother. The 3 wall cases were made by my grandmother.

These have a varied assortment of books: Kurt Vonnegot, the Dune books, Tony Hillerman, and some thriller writers.

The standing bookcase has most of James Michener’s books and a couple shelves of biographies.

Books horse crop May 2018.jpg

The other bedroom has the horse books from my childhood, plus some I’ve collected over the years: Marguerite Henry, C. W. Anderson, Walter Farley, Margaret Cabell Self, and Will Rogers.

Office - West side5 crop Feb. 2012.jpg

My office has all the classics and required reading that schools list. There are more in the closet in this room.

There are several other small freestanding bookcases, some with very old books from the family from the 1800’s.

Homesteading books crop May 2018.jpg

These are some of the books I’ve found valuable in my journey to know more about food and nutrition, homesteading and farming practices, and animal husbandry.

The Chestry Oak crop May 2018.jpg

And this is my favorite book of all…

Sort:  

I am so very envious of your full bookshelves!!! That is quite the collection! The national geographics are really cool!

my gosh I wish I had the room for a bunch of bookshelves, mine are all stacked in storage or in the master closet... no I'm not a hoarder but moving from a 2800 sq. ft. house in NY to a trailer in AR shrunk everything... But I like the idea of building them for the office area, need to think on that one

i love this!!! i can see that books are quite at home in your house! i love how they're packed into every nook and cranny so delightfully and organized so well :)) you have books everywhere and so many good reference books. your kids were lucky to grow up in a house with so much knowledge on hand! i want to make sure @riverflows checks this out!

Oh my gosh!!! Book people are my people!!! I used to love pouring over Nat geographics when Mum used to subscribe. You have sooo many and such great shelves!!

Here's mine: https://steemit.com/contest/@riverflows/what-s-in-your-library-challenge-a-lesson-in-attachment

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11