Bits of you - bookish lost and founds

in #books5 years ago

Something I've always loved is finding things and imagining. Perhaps that's why I tell stories, because I like giving things a voice, faces a name and all that. I like imagining what happened here, who something belonged to before it found its way to me and so on.
And for that reason, I suppose it's a great thing that I borrow a lot of books from the library. I started doing that some four years ago and honestly, I don't remember the first book I took home, or the first “special one”. But there have been several. What I mean by special one is that one book where someone else forgot something.
Do you know the one I mean?

46846094_2188636808057329_8397478331531919360_n.jpg

A chocolate wrapper, a shopping list, or in this particular case, some stamped notebook papers from the Lighthouse Golf&Spa Resort in Balchik, Bulgaria. Now, Romania is very close to Bulgaria, as some of you may know, and given that the prices are quite alright, a popular holiday destination for Romanians.
Much to my disappointment, there is nothing written on these pages, no message from the person who last had this book. Or maybe it wasn't them. Who can know?
Because always, when I find such a memento in one of my borrowed books, I always put it back in and hope the library ladies don't find it to take it out, throw it to the garbage. I'd hate that, because then the link would be lost, the bond between readers broken.

Maybe I read too much into these little things, but then again, maybe not. What's funny is that one of the main characters in this book – Swimming Lessons, by Claire Fuller – is a writer who collects old books for the notes left on the side by previous owners, for the little improvised bookmarks, because he says they each tell a story. And knowing that, I can't help but wonder if the person who left these pages inside did it intentionally?
Perhaps they wanted a bit of their story carried on to the next reader, maybe they wanted to establish contact. They were reaching out for me and I'd love to reach back, but I don't know who they were. And, as the book shows, it doesn't matter.

I don't want to discover that the writer was actually the chambermaid and Suzannah was just a guest in room 127 who needed fresh towels. Or that room service got Suzannah's request for eggs on toast but couldn't find the order pad.

This is what his daughter, Flora, says when they discover just such a hotel note (interesting, no?) with the words 'Suzannah room 127' and begin to speculate what it means. And while I have a feeling the moral of the story may be somewhat different, this is what I take away from it thus far – why would I want to know? If I'd found a message explaining what happened at the Lighthouse Golf&Spa Resort in Balchik, Bulgaria...well, that wouldn't be exciting at all. Maybe it was their first vacation together, maybe it was done to spice things up in a marriage that was long overdue. Maybe they weren't together at all, but she wished they were. Or he.

A whole story is contained in those three words.

But the story has to happen in your head. It's the only way, I believe. So, let's explore a little more. The book has 5 return dates stamped on the front, one of which is my own. So the notes could've been left in January, February, May or October. Given that Balchik is a seaside town, I'm leaning towards May, though October was quite warm too. But I think May, let's say May, it seems like such a perfect month for a story.

And from there, the possibilities are endless. Anything could've happened in that May and to the person who was reading this. Is he or she still on good terms with the people they vacationed with? Have they since had a row? Did his eyes linger a little too long on the low-cut bathing suits, when they shouldn't have? Or was the person running from something? Just a few days, but they had to get away, because whatever it was was suffocating them. So many stories that could exist within those pages.

And how about dedications on books? I'm crazy about those.

46759351_295549921080480_8694082021305090048_n.jpg

Now, I can't help but wonder about this one, it's my most recent favorite. The dedication itself is banal – best wishes. Nothing romantic about best, is there? But then, the book itself is very much romantic. It's a book about two soulmates searching for each other in seven worlds, it's about eternal love. Now, that's a bit more risky. You don't give a gal such a book with no intention in mind, you know?
So, did Michael (looks like Michael, doesn't it?) fancy India? Certainly sounds like it. And what did India think about the book? Was there a happy ending in store for Michael, or did she rebuke him? Maybe he never knew India's heart was so broken by another she could never love him back. Or maybe they're laughing over it to this day. Maybe they're no more. Maybe one died in a terrible car crash and the other sold this because it was too hard to look at...
Endless.

46874591_366739820566426_4747777232636739584_n.jpg

Or this. This one is a bit clearer, but still leaves a lot of plotholes. I found it in an old book about the band R.E.M. which I got at a second-hand bookstore in London. What happened to Simon? Why did they sell the book, again? It was a Christmas present, presumably one with meaning for Simon and honey. Perhaps they were huge REM fans and judging by the words, this Christmas might've very well been after the band broke up (in 2011), so not quite so long ago. So what happened? Did they break up too, like their favorite band?
Did they really need the money? (Hey, perhaps they were investing in crypto!)
We can't know what happened and that makes it brilliant – it could be anything. Don't you just love that?

So, I've been thinking. While writing this post. How about we leave a little message for whoever picks Swimming Lessons up next? Something from all of us, I don't want it to be just me.
46837526_772490899767010_6825973643583946752_n.jpg
What do you think? Might we have a new Steemian on the way? Oh well, only time will tell.

What about you? Do you have any interesting found-in-a-book stories you'd like to share? :)

Thank you for reading,

photojoiner_photo(16).jpeg

Sort:  

oh @honeydue, have you watched Whisper of the heart? It’s a very cute old anime about a girl who reads a lot of books and is an aspiring writer. One day she notices that some guy always reads the books she borrows before her (his name is on all of the library card lists inside the books). Of course there is a love story twist to it :)

Owww this sounds right up my alley! I've bookmarked it and will definitely watch. Thank you so much for the recommendation :D
I watched a bit of the video too, but then stopped so as not to spoil it ;)

So cute, I had a habit to buy old books and to write those kind of wishes on the first page and them leave them 'by accident' on a bench in the tube or a park. I was even curious some time if they would be rescue and how the wish will impact the reader...

Posted using Partiko Android

Ow that is so cool :))) I wonder who found them and what they thought! because I'd love finding something like that. To tell you a secret, sometimes I get really bored on a plane and write a short funny story on those in flight magazines, 'cause you know, I figure someone else will get bored and maybe find it, so maybe it'll make them smile. :D
It's fun because it's so intimate :D

Haha you have wonderful ideas :)))

Posted using Partiko Android

One of the reason I love to buy second-hand books is because I like to discover some "signs" of the previous owner! In time, I found a lot of different things like postcards, train tickets or beautiful hand written sentences on the first pages. Beautiful!

Train tickets? That is so awesome!! i hope they were used though, that they didn't miss their ticket. but then again, maybe they did but had a good reason to ;)

I love this. Found things do have a story. How wonderful that it fuels your imagination that way. I’m inspired! I’m reading a book right now for one of my book clubs that you might like. It is called The Keeper of Lost Things, by Ruth Hogan. Have you heard of it?

I did not! But I just looked it up and it sounds like a very interesting story. I will have to keep an eye out for it ;) Thank you, @jayna!

Messages in Bottles at Beaches?

So, is leaving messages in books similar to leaving messages in bottles at the beach where you toss the bottle into the ocean? I was born in 1985 in Oregon, USA. In the 1990's, at libraries, people would write their name on the back of the book on a card. You would add the date. So, you could see who else read the book and when.

Messages in Desks?

During high school, I found some notes in the desk of my biology class. So, I opened up the paper, wrote a reply, & waited a day or two for a response from whoever would respond from the other classes. Very interesting. I'm Oatmeal. I like to put Honey Due or Honey Dew in my Oatmeal. You can call me Joey or Oatmeal. But yeah, that's funny, "Come to Steemit, we have cookies." Yes, and Oatmeal too, haha. That makes me smile. Thanks for the laughs.

Well, glad it made you laugh in these troubled times ;) Yeah, now that you mention it, it is similar to messages in bottles, or school notes! Cool, hadn't thought of that. And it's interesting that people also used to write their names on library cards, I wish they still did, it would add another layer to the story.

It's like hand written encourage articles (EA) which I write, like Christmas cards, birthday cards, get well soon cards, letters, playing cards. I've made some. It's like hand-made clothes, blankets, stuff animals, bags, etc. It's a little piece of Heaven. It's the thought that counts.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Nice read. I leave an upvote for this article thumbsup

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86