When the Monsters Come to Life

in #books5 years ago

I'm sure I'm not the only one who enjoys a good horror story, be it in a movie or indeed in a book. I'm not talking about gory or blood-curdling effects (in film), but about that extra something that kinda makes you want to check under your bed before you go to sleep that night. The sort of story that drags you inside and makes you feel certain that it's real and that if you're not careful, the monster might get you, too.
Might get you anyway.


Prince.png
src

And so, I was delighted to read 'The Prince of Mist' by Spanish author Carlos Ruiz Zafon. Now, Zafon and I are old friends, his Cemetery of Forgotten Books series is simply astonishing. Very probably the best writing I've read in my life. There's just so much beauty in his depiction of the world, such skill - he's a brilliant artist. Seriously, The Shadow of the Wind, along with all its sequels is binge-worthy writing, the sort you can read over and over and even though you know what's gonna happen, you still love every word of it. And anyway, it's just so well written you're probably going to find new things each time you go through it.

But I hadn't had the pleasure of reading his young adult series Niebla. Now, I don't really believe in this 'young adult' thing, nor does Zafon (he makes it clear in the introduction), because they're books that can be enjoyed at any age. I find people who look down on young adult literature really tiresome. Anyway, a couple days ago, I finished the first book, 'The Prince of Mist'.

And let me tell you, it's amazing. I don't think I've ever been as scared of a book in my life. Well, maybe not scared as such, but you know, you could feel the darkness creep up on you as you read and this feeling that the monsters are just lurking in the darkness. And I read a lot of horror, so it's not exactly easy to make me feel like that. Still, this book did that, and in such a masterful manner. As I said, the writing is perfect, the characters are not only strong, but beautifully conjured. And the ending is...well, sad, but very befitting.

It's a truly marvelous book, the sort that sucks you in and doesn't let you go until the last page. Seriously, the only thing I could find wrong with it was that it ended at some point. Good books shouldn't be allowed to end.

Anyway, right now I'm about a quarter through the second book, The Midnight Palace, and even though it so far has seemingly nothing to do with the characters in the first book, I'm already hooked. It's in the writing, man. There's just something in the way this man writes that is perfect for me.

Speaking of horror stories, I don't like the ones where the characters all get out of danger and defeat the monster and all come out unscathed. I don't want to give you spoilers, because that would be a waste. But take for example, Stephen King' It. It would really suck if all of them came out just fine from the last confrontation with Pennywise. Seriously, it would be disappointing as hell and I'm glad they don't all come out fine, because I really liked that book as well and I would've been mightily pissed if he saved them all.
Things aren't always okay. They can't be. And I really don't understand why some people try so hard to believe they can.

Anyway, maybe read it? Maybe not? I mean, it's a great book, really, and it would be your loss if you didn't, but hey, I can't put a gun to your head, can I?

Oh, on a side note also about horror stories, have you guys seen this trailer for Joker with Joaquin Phoenix? Doesn't it seem fucking incredible?

Thanks for reading,

photojoiner_photo(16).jpeg

Sort:  

You know I've never read anything by him before. This could be just thing thing... I'll add it to my list!

Oh you should, he's amazing. Though I would recommend reading The Shadow of the Wind first, it's phenomenal ;)

I must read these books seems like something I can like. I resteem it ♥️

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you, Noemi <3 That's so nice of you! Well, they're great, so yeah, I think you might like them! Also, check out his The Shadow of the Wind, 'cause that's the one that made him famous internationally. It's marvelous ;)

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 11 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 6 SBD worth and should receive 208 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Congratulations @honeydue! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Oh yes, one of my favorite authors ❤️ I remember being shocked at how creepy it was, I think it’s supposed to be a children’s book (or that’s at least what the stores tell you, the man himself may call it differently) and I’m pretty sure that if I’d read it as a child it would have haunted me for a long time...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70846.59
ETH 3567.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79