Book Review: "Burial Rites" by Hannah Kent

in #books6 years ago

Hi Steemians!

Today I'm back to review a new favourite novel of mine: Burial Rites by Hannah Kent.

Burial Rites is set in Iceland in the 1820s and is historical fiction based on the actual life and death of Agnes Magnusdottir, the last woman to be publicly executed in Iceland. I'm not sure how precisely the book follows true events, but I'm assuming the bare bones would be the same.

We follow Agnes during the last months of her life, as she awaits execution for the murder of a farmer she used to work for. She is made to spend this time with a family who had to take her in, and slowly she ends up telling them her story.

Agnes' story is as tragic as it is moving. I really enjoyed how it slowly unravelled, how the reader gets to know her alongside the family on the farm. I went on holiday to Iceland last year and even though it was during the summertime, the winter months as they are described in the book felt eerily familiar to me; I could imagine them very clearly and felt as if I was there again myself.

The book is extremely atmospheric, well written and captivating! Despite being a slow burn I really enjoyed myself and definitely recommend it!

Have you read Burial Rites, or anything else by Hannah Kent that you would recommend? Let me know!

Happy reading!
xx
ivymuse

Sort:  

I have not read this nor even heard of Hannah Kent but on the strength of this recommendation I shall have to check it out from the library.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14