debating on choosing between ebooks and paper books ??!!!

in #books6 years ago

I am a big bookholic, and that's not a new thing that I am telling. I just love the smell of a new book. that's the first thing that I do whenever I buy a new book. Also, I love to see my collection growing. It's like seeing a baby growing with it. Even you also grow with it. you are always different when you read a particular book. When I look at the books that I used to read few years back, I am taken back to the time when I was a different girl, with different plans, different wishes and definitely different genres.

Let me confess, I was more of a romantic book readers when I first started. And my favorite authors were limited to some Indian romantic writers like Durjoy Dutta, Ravinder Singh etc. But now, I feel kiddish when I read such books. I am more into Biographies and philosophy & physiology now. I just love to know what made people who they become and also why people do, what people do.

But what I am seeing these days is people losing interest in buying actual book and preferring kindles and e-books. This is taking bookstores towards great loss and hence, existing bookstores are shutting down. And people are hardly considering opening one, as they hardly see any profits in doing so.

books-1655783_960_720.jpg

But people are not realizing that, though it's good sometime to go for kindle and e-books like when you are travelling and you can't hold on books and all that , but reading a book physically has much more advantages then anything in the option.

There could be a good debate over saving papers and going e-book. Which is considerable. A lot of deforestation happens for making paper and book publication and hence, it is a serious point to consider. If we got kindle, we can save alot and hence, alot of environmental issues can be started to resolve.

And also there are issues like dry eyes, eye straining, feeling of too much of tiredness, insomnia and many other problems. Kids are using digital media from a very early age which is affecting their mental health and physical health.

And now I am struggling as which one to choose more. I have always been a fan of books as I told earlier but now that i see so many trees getting into deforestation just because we can read books seems very selfish to me.
On the other hand, working too much near computer screen, into the digital makes me very tired and less productive.

So you can have your reason to choose either of them. I think I am still gonna stick to physical books, because they are my escape from every bad emotion that I go through and compromising with that is not my option right now.

The thing we can do is, we can bring out a third alternative, where books are being printed but paper or the material used to make books and other reading stuff. And more work on it can be done. Let's join for ideas and change the way things are already happening . May be something incredible comes for us.

Sort:  

The first paragraph describes me perfectly :D :D

Haha...every bookworm can relate to it I guess :)

The picture you chose to support your article is quite good. It is bringing more light on the fact that books give us a way, a far way.

And even I didn't thought of that

No issues, I did it for you!! :)

Wow great idea.Yes books has been key jn all sort of success.i love writting books too.
Books has been the source of endless knowledge.

indeed !! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71