What books are you reading?

in #books5 years ago (edited)

Image result for books

I've only just gotten back into reading recently, I used to have my head stuck in a book at a young age but the last few years I haven't read consistently, which is a shame. However I have now made a promise to myself to read for thirty minuets per day. This was encouraged by some really interesting books I got over Christmas. Reading is really good for you, it allows you to relax, and personally I find myself sharper with my speech and writing.

One is a fictional historian style of the 300 Targaryen rule on the Iron Throne, this is inspired by the series "A Song Of Ice And Fire" which then led to the hit TV show "A Game Of Thrones". The book is a brilliant read and is a real addition to the books. If your into the main series or into fantasy you need to read it, it shows G.R.R.Martin's level of detail and the level of history he developed from the main series to create all of the content in this book. This is also the first of two volumes which is crazy considering the first one is at least 700 pages in itself.

The other is "12 Rules Of Life" which is a guideline to how we can get the best out of life, or how we can essentially live our best life. The book is brought to us by Jordan.B.Peterson, who at the moment has become a celebrity on the internet through his speeches and ideas about masculinity and femininity. It's a very interesting book with lots of scientific and history that relates to why we have certain abilities and looks at other animals that have the same systems and behavior. I'd give it a read if you can get past the constant use of biblical text which is excessive in my opinion.

So here are my books, what are you reading at the moment and why is it so good?

Sort:  

Thank you mrultracheese! You've just received an upvote of 72% by @ArtTurtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your art and music posts

Please come visit me as I've updated my daily report with more information about my upvote value and how to get the best upvote from me.

'Magickal Healing' by Josephine McCarthy... because I want to make maximum use of the placebo effect.

Ah nice I'll have to check it out, it's an interesting idea I think it has some merit has you can trick your mind into almost anything. I've certainly been able to feel warmer by imagining myself on a hot beach

Posted using Partiko Android


You just planted 0.07 tree(s)!


Thanks to @mrultracheese

We have planted already
5761.85 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 31809.79
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10