[Book Review] Galactic Startup

in #books5 years ago

I read a lot. Like, a lot. I definitely get my money's worth out of Amazon's Kindle Unlimited. So I thought it would be fun to start reviewing the books I read. Mostly sci-fi/fantasy genre fiction, so don't be disappointed if you don't find abstruse prose in the demesne of my literary sights. See how annoying that is?

These reviews are not about the plot of the story. I guess they are meta-reviews about whether the book is worth reading or not. It's more about the experience of reading the book rather than the story itself.

You can check everything I'm reading on Kindle at my goodreads

OK, on to the review.

Amazon Link

The dust jacket:

Alex and his three friends drop out of college after discovering a revolutionary way to travel into space using a small amount of energy. Their world-changing technology is sought by the government, and they are forced to go into hiding while they perfect it. Their adventures into orbit and beyond become a global sensation. As they navigate fame, family and those who are determined to stop them, little do they know that their little startup could have galactic consequences once they discover a derelict spaceship.

Transcript:

all right so this book review is on
galactic startup by Brian whiting so
let's look at the dust jacket here Alex
it has three friends drop out of college
after discovering a revolutionary way of
travel into space using a small amount
of energy their world changing
technology is sought by the government
and they are forced to go into hiding
while they perfected their adventures
into orbit and beyond become a global
sensation as they navigate fame family
and those who are determined to stop
them little do they know that their
little startup could have galactic
consequences once they discover a
derelict spaceship so yeah I thought it
was a cool idea um you know so you know
obviously I read it and you know these
are mini reviews they're just it's not
about the actual plot or anything but
you know whether it's worth spending the
time reading it and all this one I've
gotta say no you know it's just nothing
really worked together and apparently
there are several sequels here so you
know and apparently I'm in the minority
because you know it has you know four
four and a half stars on Amazon but you
know for me the you know the whole
structure of the book just did not flow
well the D so these college dropouts you
know they figure out this revolutionary
thing okay fine you know that does
happen for quite a time but it's
actually two or or three different
revolutionary technologies that they
figured out which you know strains
credulity a bit and then they overlook
really obvious stuff like the fact that
it gets cold in space and you know they
learn from it and whatever but it just
doesn't hang well together for me and
then you know the the pacing is you know
there's like a scene at the beginning
there's like scene one and then one year
gap scene to one year gap scene three
and then it goes on and you know the the
progress that they made and the lack of
progress that other people made you know
trying to pursue them it just it doesn't
make any sense then there's a derelict
spacecraft they find
which you know it's fine but then you
know the events that happen after that
don't make sense that they would happen
at that time necessarily so it's just it
was too many things pulling me out of
the story so I did not read the sequel
and I don't think I'm going to

Overall rating: skip it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70744.80
ETH 3561.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.80