Motorcycle Travel Series by @velimir 'Old Dusty Friends' (Part #265)

in #books6 years ago (edited)

'Old Dusty Friends'

crta.png

Not so long ago, people were proud to own home libraries. Full bookshelves would testify of their love for knowledge and the sheer number would leave their guests in awe. With passing time and technology developments this almost vanished to be replaced by a memory.

With a single USB stick, where thousands upon thousands books can be stored and carried anywhere, only the die-hards still keep the tradition of hoarding dusty paper and hopefully finding time to read it. Who can say that the times are not changing?

There is something nostalgic about looking at all those old books and people going through them. I take my time to check the titles. I find a few really old photography books. The old school techniques in there. It used to be so complicated. The chemical smelling dark room and all. When studying, I had mine set up in the bathroom. :D

At a young age, we used to collect old comics and graphic novels on a similar place like this one. These were a big thing back then where I lived. We would go to the street stands where they were sold and search for missing back issues.

Interesting to observe how people used to read much more before. We had too few information and way more time. Today we are drowning in oceans of useless information that bombards us from everywhere. This is what makes us believe that there is no time for anything. Don't succumb, always make some for a good book.

Enjoy your day! :-)



©2018 Velimir Kovačić All rights reserved.



All images and text published in this post are my original work. I encourage everyone to use own texts, thoughts and images as much as possible. Be yourself and stay yourself. This is a proper way to build steemit.com. I do not have respect for dishonest authors. Also, bloggers actually DO matter!





• For good, inspirational read on various subjects follow: @gavvet
• For crypto news, follow always up-to-date @kingscrown 's blog on the subject.
• I really like to read @vcelier 's life story!
@ezzy writes awesome stories and reviews. :)
• If you want to laugh away enjoy @meesterboom 's posts full of brisk humour and positive attitude!
@thecryptodrive and @reggaemuffin are good guys who run good witness service!
• I suggest a visit to @adsactly society's blog if you feel like reading hi-quality posts about many themes, daily provided by ADSactly society members!


Vote @adsactly-witness for your witness in the Witness Parliament. ADSactly Society is good people who will represent you well.

I'd like to extend my gratitude to everyone who continuously supports both of my ongoing projects (Motorcycle Travel Series and Art Photography Series). Big thank you for enjoying the content and appreciating my effort. This is what steemit.com is meant to be about.





I am a member of the @buildteam crew, innovative creators of @minnowbooster @steemvoter and @steemsports blockchain projects.
Go Buildteam

The @adsactly society is a meeting point for free thinking individuals who want to cooperate. It is a welcome addition to Steemit.com community. Feel free to ask about it.



Go Adsactly


The @adsactly society Discord channel is here: ADSactly You are welcome to join!

Note to my dear readers, friends and followers: Please understand that I am unable to answer all of your comments because if I cycling to do that, I'd not have any time left for creating the series and for all of my other Steemit-related work. The amount of comments is overwhelming. It is beautiful to see that my work is appreciated and that it inspires so many people. I read all of your comments before going to sleep. It is my evening routine. Thank you so much for your support!

Sort:  

I thought it was about old friends. Haha! In my mind, I was already reaching out to check some books out. Used book stores are hard to find. There's one at SM superstore in Rizal, but I didn't find what I was looking for. The good thing about e-books is they can be easily updated and never get dusty.

Hi @velimir
Yes, you are the right technology to change our lives. Now the book has become like an endangered species. Most people are already actively using e-books (tablets, computers) to read literature.
Nevertheless, studies show that people get better information from paper carriers. If a person reads the same book but from different carriers (a book and a tablet), he will learn more information from the book. This is due to the fact that generations of people read exactly paper books. Our subconscious is better aware of information from paper books. New sources of information appeared relatively recently, and therefore their subconscious perceives a little differently. I think in the future everything will change.
I often prefer to read the paper book myself. This allows you to better immerse yourself in reading. And the main thing is that unlike a computer, I will not be distracted from reading.
But in every way there are positive and negative sides. In the case of technological progress, I see many positive aspects. Nevertheless, the books will not disappear completely. I think that libraries will exist in the future, but they will not be popular with the younger generation.
A good topic for discussion
Good day:)

I have a couple of bookshelves full (one in danger of collapse) and a couple of boxes full. Incredibly those are mostly research manuals and such. I converted to a Kindle years ago, and now carry about 1000 books with me on my motorcycle!

In truth, I think I read more rather than less. I can hear about a book, and have it delivered in 2 minutes... Though I did read a paper book this week, loaned to me from a friend.

Thanks for a really wonderful post. The only downside is no motorcycle...

i am agree with your opinion. . The time of digital technology offers to read a book in a smartphone. we can have many books, stories on our cell phones. ,this generation is more of internet,knowledge is increasing and more easy. it gives me a sense of connection to the content and makes it more interesting.thank you very much for your good post sharing.i respect of your good thought.. @velimir

I love my Kindle, my iPhone, and my iPad, but to me a paper book, especially an old one, is a wonderful thing. I love thinking about the people who have owned or even just held the book in their hands and read it over the years. I like thinking about the people who printed and sold it. I enjoy looking at and thinking about all venerable old objects...thanks for sharing and photographed these pleasant moments
...

Hola, La lectura es arte y cultiva la mente y el hombre. Un buen libro, una buena literatura en papel no tiene precio. Dentro de mí humilde Biblioteca tengo libros ya un tanto viejos pero buenos. Por cierto un diccionario de sinónimos y antónimos de la Real Academia Española del año 1923 que usualmente tomó para urgar palabras. Pero cierto es que hoy en día bajamos un libro a nuestra computadora o laptop y cada día perdemos más el interes de adquirirlo en una libreria (que en mí país ya escasean). Los libreros en las plazas ya no son como antes y poco se encuentran. En el pasado usted recibía consejos por parte de ellos acerca de la mejor literatura.
Saludos

Hmm, live have traveled far beyond human expectations. It amaze me so much, i remember most of the bulky books and some other items we usually carry around so uncomfortably but could now be carried in just a piece of devise smaller than a finger. Hmm i must say kudus to thinkers, creators, and the wise people we have blessed with. Thanks for this nice piece sir.

The essence of reading is the process of understanding the language divided by the author to the reader.

Writing is the process of pouring ideas / ideas which will produce a writing that can be understood by the reader. The benefits of reading there Gain a lot of life experience.

Acquire general knowledge and certain information that is very useful for life. Know the great events in the civilization and culture of a nation. View my complete profile Increase the smooth writing and writing sentences.

An essay is essentially related to language and life. And the types of writing are descriptive, expository, argumentative.

Write, because without writing it will disappear from the vortex of history.

Books are my best friend in my free time. I really love them. I have a small library in my home.

I have good collection of motivational books and science books.

If you ever visit in India then you can contact me and i will show the real beauty of India. By the here i also share beautiful pictures in my blog to show the real face of india.

I will show you my collection if you ever come to india. I will welcome you here.

The children’s grandmother still has a huge book collection. It’s sknethig I rarely see these days. It’s great that she has it though. I have pulled out a few classics as I’m looking to read a perticular list of books. She had “Slaughterhouse 5” and “The Grest Gaysby” as well as “Thr Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man”.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89