Boomslang South Africa's most venomous Snake

in #boomslang6 years ago

4.jpg
I caught this Boomslang (African Tree Snake) in Dikhololo Game Reserve near the town of Britz in South Africa.
I broke a golden rule to not interfere with nature. This Boomslang was repeatably getting attacked by a bird, a Grey Headed Bush Shrike. Even though it is the most venomous snake in South Africa (not most dangerous), it seemed helpless to defend itself. The bird flew away, I caught the snake and put it near a Waterhole for a drink. In hindsight, I should have just left it and let nature take it's course.

Sort:  

Thanks for posting this @mambaman. My son, also, is a herpitology enthusiast. Thanks for posting. I have followed and upvoted you!

Thank you. I would like to hear more about your son.

Here he is. His name is Nicholas. He has emigrated to the UK now. This was on a snake-handling course he attended.
Nick.jpg

I hate snakes. Their scaled body is so ewwwww.

if a help is needed, why not @mambaman I agree with your actions.good jop
because animals also need protection

@mambaman, You are like me, we love animals!

I'm afraid of snakes

Wow! You are great I once come across that type of snake before back then in 2014. I let it go because I was afraid of it but now I think am brave enough to take it alive anyhow any where.

Please don't catch a dangerous snake on account of me, I've had years of experience

Congratulations @mambaman, this post is the third most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Dust account holder (accounts that hold between 0 and 0.01 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Dust account holders during this period was 17491 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $8072.63. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Ouch. No coming back from that one.

You are a brave man i must say, not easy to grab a snake in your hand .... in that way. Thanks mate for sharing this pic :)
Thumbs up for you mate....

You are very brave, ordinary eagles are very fond of snakes to eat everyday. But you can do this.

Greeting...@mambaman

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09