Boulder Sunday at Big Gunpowder Falls State Park Near Notchcliff

in #bouldersunday5 years ago

For Boulder Sunday, I'll be showing an area of the Big Gunpowder Falls that I have not been to yet. It is an area that I've driven by many times on the way to visit my in-laws and it is almost always crowded. Of course that has been on the weekends so my husband and I decided to stop on an early weekday morning. This trail was not marked very well so I will call it the trail near Notchcliff Road and Harford Road in Baltimore County.

lbthx7vwh5.jpg

5j95euhcfp.jpg

wvb86hhhzu.jpg

There were some really beautiful sights on this short outing and so many reflections on the water that at times it seemed hard to tell what was the reflection and what was not. I kinda' felt like I was in the "upside down"!

ck8uwv726b.jpg

p38dcxg8oy.jpg

e0jsywnwxj.jpg

It rained overnight and there were a lot of slippery spots so I had to be extra careful. I did slip a few times but, luckily, did not fall.

38og22ew8u.jpg

axdi3t8lz7.jpg

This area was abundant with rocks and boulders and I'm always happy to to get photos of such for #bouldersunday which is hosted by @shasta!

fil841l0j3.jpg

lxumrh67qk.jpg

t96k1kcm5f.jpg

I did see a few things that were unsettling and no it had nothing to do with "bigfoot"! It had to do with people doing things that are bad for the environment and prohibited. I'm talking about campfires which are prohibited and littering. This is the first area of Big Gunpowder Falls that I've seen this at and I found it very sad to see.

rpg12e3oja.jpg

c18oxqjewk.jpg

Evidently, it must be a problem in this particular area as the Maryland Natural Resources Police was parked in the small lot. They are also there to make sure that if you are fishing, that you have a valid license to do so and are following all the rules on what you can keep and not keep.

cck0zxsngy.jpg

Anyway, I don't know that I would return to this particular spot very often. Not because of the issues that I mentioned above but because the trail was not very long and when the water is high, it leaves even less of a trail. Very beautiful though and worth checking out. It could be interesting walking in from the other side of this stream of rocks and boulders. I think we did come close to the other side of this spot once on our walks.

pp5xuk0ang.jpg

4gmqa8l2mm.jpg

lwmqsw9d0f.jpg

q1cch3kanm.jpg

Sorry, I haven't been on in about a week. Just been not feeling good. I have good days and bad days and the last few were somewhere in between!

Thank you @shasta for #bouldersunday!!

0vlhu0xs95.jpg

86ea2dyu0d.png

10t0fnrxjj.png

anonyvoterlogo.JPG

q6gx53m3pu.png

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just resteemed your post!
Check the latest update to learn more about me.
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thank you so much @pixresteemer!! Very much appreciated!! 💞

I'm just saying.. I live in Nottingham... White Marsh or whatever you want to call it! I saw this post and was like... wait. what?!?! I've been there a couple times. I'll post some pictures of myself and my boys swimming there. Its nice... and its always packed.

Thank you @paulmoon410!! Lol..all part of Baltimore County! 😉
I love visiting the Gunpowder but try to go when it isn't too crowded. I can bet it was really crowded a couple weeks ago when it was so dang hot here. I'm also looking forward to Autumn colors soon. I'd love to see your photos too! 🙂

Glad to know your local. Anyone else you know up here on this platform?

I can't think of anyone else that is still posting but my memory isn't the best either. If I think of anyone else then I'll let you know. 🤔

Appreciate that for sure.

Oh my goodness what fantastic boulder photographs @deerjay!
Those reflections are so beautiful of the stones and arched bridge!
More bridges should have arches, they look so cool reflected!
Not cool to trash mother nature tho! Looks like a lot of different
colored stones with nice angles! Love those sun rays too!!
Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful walk with the rocks! :-)

Thank you so much @shasta!! I loved that there were so many wonderful boulders to photograph and share. Catching all the reflections was like "icing on the cake" and made a nice compliment to the rocks and boulders. I was tempted to pick up a couple of the stones but I get enough eye rolls from my husband..lol. 🙄 😊

Congratulations @deerjay! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 8500 comments. Your next target is to reach 9000 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been boosted with ESTM. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thank you so much @esteemapp!!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=deerjay
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=boulder-sunday-at-big-gunpowder-falls-state-park-near-notchcliff


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

What a beautiful area and so many cool Boulders, its always a shame when people mess it up for others with the trash and campfires

Thank you @tattoodjay!! I can't help but wonder how it will look once the Fall colors start appearing. I was really surprised about the issues I found. I've been to many parts of the Gunpowder and still not seen it all but this was the first time I saw quite a bit of littering. I also wondered if some of it could have been caught up in and carried by the water. 🤔

It should be interesting to see in Fall, the park from your other posts looks so beautiful and a shame to see people showing no respect for it, and you raise a good point the trash they leave behind could be washed away into the waterways and do even more damage to the environment

The one area that we go to frequently is closed off right now. The big parking lot is closed off and filled with maintenance trucks. It is suppose to reopen late Fall. There are still lots of areas to visit though and I'm going to try to get out to places I haven't been to yet as well. I'm still glad I visited here and would definitely do a return trip. I'm sure this area was packed with people recently with the holiday too. I'm very critical on littering. It was one thing that my mom instilled in me at a very young age..don't litter..I taught my children the same thing. 🙂

Yes I was the same my parents were big on not littering and passed that one to me, seeing it has always been a pet peeve for me
with the long weekend probably more people were there than normal so that could well be a factor

Wow such calm water reflections. I see some leaves are beginning to change.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @sketch.and.jam and thank you! Yep, we are starting to see some mild color changes and leaves falling here. I'm so looking forward to the Autumn colors! 🍂 🙂

You have to try and get that calm mirrored water with fall colors in it.

Posted using Partiko Android

That would be gorgeous to capture and hopefully in another month we will see some beautiful Fall colors. 😉

It must be a very nice place since the image reflects great beauty.

Thank you @truelovemom!! It really is a wonderful state park! 🙂

This post has been manually curated by PhotoStream: The Photography Tribe!

banner 1.jpg

Congratulations, keep up the great work!

Join Photostreem DISCORD

Thank you so much @jzn and PhotoStream!! Very much appreciated!! 💖

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66441.00
ETH 3217.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22